One day jaunt to an island

The last trip I took was in 2013, visiting friends in Miami and Washington, DC. I canceled my trip to France in 2014, my trip to Las Vegas in 2015, and my trip to San Francisco in 2016.  All due to poor health.  I lost money, as there was no refund on the airfare.  For this reason, I have decided not to take any more long distance trips in the future.

However, I might take one day jaunts to the neighbor islands. David and I discussed flying to Maui next year.  It’s been a while since we visited that island.

What I like best about Maui is the art galleries. Many artists live on Maui, and their work is featured in many of these galleries.

For example, I purchased these two prints by David Warren, who lived and died on Maui:

art-6-cropped

Koi Pond 003-A

And I purchased this print by Christian Lassen, who was raised on Maui:

art-7-A

Who knows what I’ll see and buy next year. I look forward to spending a day on Maui.  Besides visiting the art galleries in Lahaina, we will definitely drive up Mt. Haleakala.  Hopefully, there will be no cloud cover, so we can see inside the multi-colored crater when we get to the top of this volcano.

3 Responses to “One day jaunt to an island”

  1. Christine Says:

    It would be great if you can book just a day or two ahead of time, or if there is a good cancellation policy.

  2. Olga Says:

    I like your plan of shorter trips, but stay healthy!

  3. DJan Says:

    I look forward to hearing about your trip, and the pictures too. I also hope it will be good weather. 🙂

Leave a Reply

