Thai Issan Cuisine

As you know, I lived and worked as an English teacher in Thailand for ten months in 1969. It was there that I was exposed to Thai cuisine.  I learned to enjoy it very much.

So, it was no surprise that David and I found ourselves at Thai Issan Cuisine a few days ago. It’s located in the Pearl Kai Shopping Mall, which has ample free parking:

thai-issan-014-a

These are photos of David and me inside the clean, air conditioned restaurant. Unfortunately, I forgot to use the flash, so the photos are dark:

thai-issan-002-a

thai-issan-004-a

We started with the combination appetizer platter (chicken satay, fish patties, fried calamari, spring rolls, sweet sour sauce, and cucumber):

thai-issan-005-a

Then, there was the pineapple curry with chicken. At this point, the sticky rice arrived, and we could spoon the curry on top of the rice:

thai-issan-008-a

David likes cashew nuts, so we ordered beef with cashew nuts:

thai-issan-010-a

That concluded our delicious Thai lunch.  We dine at this restaurant quite frequently, because the food is so good.

7 Responses to “Thai Issan Cuisine”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    It’s been eons since I had any Thai food but I love it as long as it isn’t too hot.

  2. Olga Says:

    It looks delicious.

  3. Christine Says:

    It looks really delicious!

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    Gigi, you’ve got my mouth watering!

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    Loved the look of those dishes. I bet the aroma was divine.

  6. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    We had Thai food yesterday the 14th, we had egg rolls, and Pad Thai with Tofu, the owners gave us some soup tooooo! Happy Holidays to you in paradise, your food looked mighty appetizing and yummee..We so enjoy cashew dishes and love curry dishes, we get appetizers tooo, but they are not as yours looked and I am sure tasted, aloha to you, good health and lots of love and peace and joy@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@XXXXXX

  7. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I, too, love Thai food! My Thai friend used to cook amazing curry for me with green curry, chicken, bamboo or eggplant, mushrooms, and uses our kaffir lime leaves growing wild and big in our back yard.

    She would grow chili plants by sticking seeds into my potted plants and I would have to pull them out so the pot could support the intended plants rather than be choked out.

    My favorite Thai restaurant is the Thai Valley Cuisine in Hawaii Kai. Her purple/black sticky rice is so good, as well as her fried fish that comes out in a soupy base. She cooks like my Thai friend, picking fresh ingredients from the garden that she maintains out back.

    Your post makes me hungry for Thai food now, especially since my friend has moved to San Francisco, boo hoo.

Leave a Reply

