Chopsticks, fork, or fingers

We recently dined at our favorite Japanese restaurant, Gyotaku, in Pearl City. Because I am Korean, the waitress assumed that David, who is white, and I preferred to use chopsticks rather than a fork.  So, that’s what we were given – chopsticks.

I had no problem with my chopsticks:

gyotaku-002-a

David tried his best, but gave up when the arthritis in his fingers resulted in pain:

gyotaku-001-a

He asked the waitress for a fork, which proved to be better for him:

gyotaku-007-a

Of course, when neither fork nor chopsticks is available, you can always use your fingers to pick up the food and put it in your mouth:

gyotaku-006-a

9 Responses to “Chopsticks, fork, or fingers”

  1. Olga Says:

    I could never quite get the hang of chopsticks. I should use them all the time, though. Then I would be a lot thinner. Well, maybe not because of the fingers thing.

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    I love sushi, I do ok with chopsticks and fingers, ha. so does gary he has arthritis in his thumbs of all places, hard to open jars etc

  3. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have not mastered chop sticks, but then I seldom had the occasion to use them. Now arthritis has made my hands clumsy.

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    Interesting … I never thought of that. What do Japanese do when they get arthritis? Makes sense to me.

  5. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    The food looks great, I would have asked for forks immediately, I don’t like to use my hands unless it is crab and then I dive right in or Filipino foods lumpia, yummy..Looks like you both enjoyed your time at this restaurant. I just voted and I am so dadblasted happy and my hubs too, ballots in the mail tooooo.. We look forward to whomever wins this presidential and other race election..Aloha in gorgeous Hawaii..keep well, happy, safe and full of delightful nomees (food) rain is back with cold weather no less, we are able to get to the coast to see friends and enjoy my hubs 69th birfthday whole weekend long, it is tomorrow the 21st but we celebrate most of the month of October since he never had any birthday celebrations growing up and me neither so we celebrate May and June since it is usually lovely here by May and June..aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Christine Says:

    luckily it is kind of like finger food, easy to pick up!

  7. Carole Says:

    Yum! Food looks delicious! I’m not very good with chopsticks; Im sure if I practiced I’d get better.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    Looks delicious! With thanks to our Chinese friends and neighbors when we lived in California way back in the day, Gregg and I are very adept at using chopsticks. Arthritis doesn’t seem to be a problem right now.

  9. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I too can use chopsticks or could. Arthritis in my thumb affects my grip so I sympathize with David.

Leave a Reply

