Mixed news

1-19-10-Hawaii Prince-A

Hawaii.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.  2010.

I received my election ballot in the mail and voted for Hillary Clinton and other Democrats. Why?  Because Hillary promised not to decrease our Social Security benefits.  She also will tax the wealthy to boost Social Security.  She said so on national TV during the final presidential debate.  Boy, if she reneges, I will be the first one to riot.  I will be so upset with her.

In other news, David had a bone density test done last week and learned that he has osteopenia. His doctor prescribed Calcium 600 plus Vitamin D.  I think his osteopenia is due to heredity and to Low T.  I told David to see a new urologist to increase his testosterone, because Low T causes brittle bones.

I, too, had a bone density test done in June. Diagnosis:  Normal bone density, no need for medication.

This bone density test involves low dose X-rays of the spine and hips. You cannot get a proper diagnosis just based on measurement of height alone.  You have to lie on a bed, and then an X-ray machine will hover over your torso and move slowly down your spine towards your hips.

Humana Medicare Advantage PPO paid 100% for this test. I didn’t have to pay a dime.

7 Responses to “Mixed news”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    I’m going to look into the PPO and also mention the bone density test to Gary because his hip and his knee and thumbs are really bothering him.

  2. Christine Says:

    So sorry to hear about David’s osteopenia, at least he has a diagnosis and
    Hope the Meds help. Glad you voted for Hillary.

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Thank you.

  4. Olga Says:

    I have osteopenia and was told to exercise, take calcium and vitamin D. I get lots of exercise and vitamin D and eat yogurt for the calcium and generally just pooh-pooh the diagnosis. Maybe I will smarten up someday.

  5. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Tough news for David. He’s doing the right things to help himself, however.

  6. DJan Says:

    I started taking Vitamin D3 and calcium a few years back because of an osteopenia diagnosis. It helped me, I hope it helps David. 🙂

  7. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I, too, will vote for Hillary. I don’t trust her, but she is hopefully the least worst of the two.

    Please research about Strontium for bone building. I take one capsule a day because I was diagnosed with osteoporosis in my 40’s. They said that I had the bones of a 68 year old with tendency to fracture. I tried calcium but it gave me headaches and a nutrition professor told me about Strontium as a much better, more beneficial option. Last test I had showed that I was normal and had good bone strength.

Leave a Reply

