Make today a good day

caricature-1-a

This is a caricature of David and me in 1979.  He had a mustache back then.

Many people focus on the bad stuff in their lives. I tell them to count their blessings, because there are other people who are worse off.

Take my life, for example. I experienced much hardship as a child and as a single woman.  Marriage to David made my life better.  However, I am not in perfect health and have to take medication for my various ailments.

If I brooded over all of my problems, I would be so depressed that I would never be able to get out of bed, and nothing would get done.

When I wake up in the morning, I try to focus on today. My objective is to make today a good day.  If I can accomplish that on a daily basis, then, by golly, I will be able to look back on all of the good days that comprise my life.

9 Responses to “Make today a good day”

  1. Carole Says:

    Oh, I love your outlook Gigi! Words of wisdom for sure. Maintaining good mental health can be a struggle for some, but a positive outlook goes a long way toward happiness.

    Love the caricature!

  2. DJan Says:

    Wise words of wisdom, Gigi. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    Great advice and a wonderful caricature!

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    Good point. As Ann Landers advised, “When life’s problems seem overwhelming, look around and see what other people are coping with. You may consider yourself fortunate.”

  5. Olga Says:

    This is the way to be, appreciate what you do have that is good and know that you can handle the inevitable problems that arise.

  6. Cathy Says:

    Just seconding what everyone wrote before me 😊

  7. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I read your blog daily to get some great joy and luv to hear about your life and Davids in paradise Hawaii..Keep on smiling & being so positive..much good thoughts and love, joy and peace sent to you daily…aloha sweet gigi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    I love your positive spirit Gigi. You are an excellent role model for your family.

  9. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Around here, many days are good days and some good days have a few upsets. Such is life.

Leave a Reply

