Adjusting to life in Hawaii

This is I, practicing my violin in New York City, 1973, at the age of 27:

glenda6.jpg

When I returned to Hawaii in 1975, after seven years abroad, I was shocked by how provincial Hawaii was. My life in New York City seemed so much more exciting, because I got to see so many famous stars performing on stage.  I was tempted to return to NYC, but I was too ill to do anything about it.

Now, it is 2016. I have adjusted to the slow pace in Hawaii.  I can’t imagine living anywhere else, especially since I enjoy being with my family, friends, and classmates.

David and I subscribe to twelve symphony concerts and to three operas per year. We both studied classical music in college and played musical instruments in the college orchestra.  We met for the first time at a music rehearsal, and he offered to drive me home after each rehearsal.  Three years after we met, we married.

I want to live in Hawaii for the rest of my life, as I have a very comfortable existence here.  I don’t yearn for anything better than what I already have.

9 Responses to “Adjusting to life in Hawaii”

  1. Christine Says:

    Retirement in Hawaii sounds perfect!

  2. DJan Says:

    I am very glad that Hawaii suits you so well! 🙂

  3. Linda Reeder Says:

    Interesting hearing about your previous life, and how you and David met.

  4. Carole Says:

    It sounds like you have the best of all that life has to offer. So happy for you Gigi!

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    Your life in Hawaii doesn’t seem to be at such a slow pace, to me anyway.

  6. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Driving a gal is the way to her heart. Clever David!

  7. Joared Says:

    Being happy with where we are emotionally and geographically in life is important. Wonder if you ever made personal recordings of your playing — quality it’s easier to achieve now than years ago?

  8. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    OMG Gigi. Your pictures in your youth! So beautiful, SO beautiful!

Leave a Reply

