Los Angeles, 1968

I was 22 years old in 1968, when this photo was taken at UCLA in Los Angeles:

Glenda-1968-ucla-A

I had just graduated from the University of Hawaii with a BA in sociology, and Los Angeles was the first leg of my around the world trip. I had only $900 in my wallet, so the first thing I did was to find work at UCLA as a secretary.  I shared a one bedroom apartment with my friend, Joanne, who also was from Hawaii.

I immediately got involved in the Eugene McCarthy campaign for US president, but he lost the nomination. Back then, I was an anti-war activist.  I’m still a pacifist.  Remember the slogan, “Make Love, Not War”?

Anyway, I lived in Los Angeles for two months and hated the smog, which burned my throat. I was glad to leave that awful city.

Since 1968, I have been back to Los Angeles once, with my husband.  I have not changed my opinion of the place.

7 Responses to “Los Angeles, 1968”

  1. Olga Says:

    I pray for peace and a time of making love not war.

  2. Tom Sightings Says:

    It’s amazing what you could do back then with $900. I spent a summer in Europe for that, inclu, airfare.

  3. DeniseinVA Says:

    Interesting you spent time in Los Angeles. I remember a very hair-raising ride on the freeway there 20 years ago. I haven’t been back since, not because of the ride though that did leave a life long memory of eye rolls. Now I deal with rush hour traffic here and am still eye rolling 😉

  4. Christine Says:

    22 was a wonderful age of exploration.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    Another lost election, and a hope for peace.

  6. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I first went to LA in the 70’s when I was 26. The smog was so bad, and the food was boringly the same – fried chicken or hamburgers. I didn’t like the place, at all.
    More recently, we would go about twice a year to see our daughters in LA colleges and the air was much better and the food was awesome! Now I like it.
    Still, there is no place like Hawaii for us.

  7. Olga Says:

    I went to LA sometime in the ’80s. I was nervous the whole time. I did not find it a place I would want to move to. I did have a college friend who went there to live and hated it for two years, then absolutely loved it and was very distressed to have to move back east after five years.

Leave a Reply

