One way to save money in Hawaii

Hawaii is the most expensive state in the nation.  How do we manage to eat out so often?  Well, one way is to buy restaurant gift cards at a discount at Costco.

Since we love the Italian cuisine at Romano’s, David bought 4 Romano’s gift cards at Costco, worth $100, but paid $80, a savings of $20.

The other day, we drove to Romano’s for a delicious lunch. This is my darling husband:

romanos-002-a

And here I am:

romanos-006-a

We started with a complimentary loaf of Italian bread.  Then, we had fried calamari, Caesar’s salad, and to top it off, we had chicken scallopini.

We paid for all of these courses with 2 gift cards plus tip.  Not bad.

8 Responses to “One way to save money in Hawaii”

  1. Olga Says:

    I no longer have a Costco membership although I sometimes miss it. I am glad you have some cost saving practices because I know island living tends to be expensive.

  2. Christine Says:

    I’ve bought these gift cards for gifts, great deal! You guys look happy and satisfied with your delicious meal!

  3. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I love fried calamari. Had calamari last week in an Italian dish, but it wasn’t fried.

  4. DJan Says:

    Glad you enjoyed your dinners. We hardly ever eat out any more, or I would consider buying those Costco discounts. 🙂

  5. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Good savings idea! I also buy gift cards at a discount from Raise.com or Cardpool.com. However, I wonder how the stores make money on those since a third party sells them. Regardless, they are great to use, and I am impressed that employees are gracious about customers like us bringing in those gift cards.

  6. Cathy Says:

    Must have a look and see if they are discounted here next time we shop at Costco.

  7. Carole Says:

    Looks delicious! Never thought of it, but great idea to buy the cards at Costco at a discount.

  8. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I buy gift cards at safeway we get gas rewards and in October and now November we get 4 times more..a win win situation as my hubs birthday is the very end of October and our only child is the first week of November! I send all her gift cards and birthday and holiday cards very early as the post lady we have had for over 20 years says that many things get lost in the mail going to NYC..so I send them all in October and she gets everything just fine..I wish we could live where you do but we would have no money to eat whatsoever..the cost of housing and everything I am told from native people who moved here 30 years ago is prohibitive..We can go to a restaurant here and eat well for as little as $10.00 a dinner & that is with soup, salad, bread (fresh) entrée, water which we prefer and a dessert and still have leftovers to take home..Romanos is not in our area no one went there and they did not do well, I have heard their food is excellent but the population in Portland and enviorns did not support it whatsoever, Seattle has all the restaurants but the price of gasoline is exorbitant now and we would prefer the beach and the tiny house we stay at and the sea..Aloha still in paradise!

Leave a Reply

