Avoiding stressful situations

flowers-3-A

Flowers in my neighborhood.

Good news!  My colitis has pretty much gone into remission.  However, David has warned me to avoid stressful situations that will trigger a relapse.

I told David that we should only socialize with people we genuinely like and respect.  People who we get along with.

He agreed and said that he does not want me to host a holiday party, because it would be too stressful for me.  If I get sick again, I will not be able to attend the symphony and opera.

So, David has made reservations for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner at a restaurant.  It will be just for the two of us and no one else.

The main thing is to not trigger a relapse due to stress.  Who needs colitis?

10 Responses to “Avoiding stressful situations”

  1. Mary Jane Says:

    A woman after my own heart. You go girl.

  2. DJan Says:

    Good for you. I’m glad to hear your colitis has gone into remission. A good choice for the always stressful holidays. 🙂

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I celebrated those holidays at restaurants a couple of times. It made the day seem more special.

  4. Christine Says:

    you have to do what is best for you. A good friend asked me to refrain from Christmas gifts this year, we will just go to a nice lunch together. It makes sense and cuts down on the needless shopping.

  5. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I am thrilled to read your colitis is in remission..I so agree with what your husband suggested and did..It is just the two of us now, we go to the beach and I take the food and we have a tiny feast with the lady my childhood friend who likes to get away to the cabin she owns, she misses her husband so much of over 50 years but we help her to remember she is still alive and sweet and lovely, we have a ball, we walk, yak til the wee hours of the morning, my hubs walks and gathers stones, we always roar up a fire on her property and sometimes our friends from childhood come down in two huge motor homes they actually live in full time, we have a wonderful time…..I think holidays should only be with people you love and care about the rest can go to you know what..life is toooo precious and short..Have a most wonderful time dining out with your wonderful husband on turkey day and Christmas..aloha in paradis, keep smiling and happy & non-stressed and healthy toooXXXXX()()()()()

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    When I was younger I thought stress was just a cop out for people who were lazy or wanted sympathy. Now that I’m older, I’ve completely changed my mind. I believe that stress is the cause of so many health and other problems. It’s the silent killer, and I applaud you first for recognizing this, and then doing something about it. B has been stressing about not getting a T’giving invitation from the family. But they all have their plans. We’re going to relax, and enjoy ourselves, and see everyone at Christmas … hopefully in a not too stressful situation!!!

  7. Carole Says:

    So glad your health is stable! The older we get, the more stressful the holidays can become, especially if we are entertaining. I agree, life is to short to socialize with negative people in your life.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    That’s good news on your health! I am still torn between wanting to simplify holidays and still doing the traditional family things.

  9. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    David is brilliant. You should marry him!

  10. Olga Says:

    I know that stress is a killer. David has made a very loving gesture in protecting you from holiday stress.

Leave a Reply

