I don’t want to be a rebel anymore

I took this photo of Diamond Head in 2007.

Maybe, it’s because I am 70 and getting older by the minute. But, I just don’t want to be a rebel anymore.

There was a time when I protested against the war in Vietnam. I participated in a sit-in on the University of Hawaii campus.  I marched to the state capitol to make our demands known to Governor Burns.  I also rode a bus from New York City to Washington, DC, to sit on the grass in front of the White House and listen to anti-war protesters.

Now, it is 2016. I am different now.  You won’t see me demonstrating on school campuses and marching on the streets of Hawaii.

I want inner peace and serenity.

I sit on my sofa and gaze out the window, loving my lush Boston ferns, hanging from the eaves. The view of my plants and flowers brings me solace and comfort from the rage in the news.

People, do we really need to argue, fight, and hate one another?

If I were to make my opinions known, opponents would find my house and vandalize it. Perhaps, these opponents would kill me when I opened my door.

At age 70, I have only a few short years to live. Let me enjoy my life in peace.

11 Responses to “I don’t want to be a rebel anymore”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Wasn’t your mother close to 100 before she died Gigi? You have plenty of years left ahead of you. I do hope you aren’t going to spend them sitting in your lounge room looking out the window!

    There’s nothing wrong with being passionate about things – I’ll agree there are some whose passion whose ideals and way of thinking has not been what has been the norm recemtly.

    I suggest you turn off the radio turn off the tv – indulge in the passion you revel in – listen to your music – but best of all- Live.

  2. DJan Says:

    I truly enjoy my circles of friends, all of whom I met while exercising. This morning I’ll go walking in the rain with women friends, many of whom are 70 and older. When we have coffee afterwards, we talk of many things, and I know some are very active politically. It adds life to my years. Everyone has a different approach to aging. Just my two cents. 🙂

  3. Olga Says:

    Peaceful time is important to me, but I am still going to be active when the need for protest arises.

  4. Christine Says:

    you clearly have much wisdom at 70!

  5. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I, too, don’t want to be a rebel anymore but it is almost as if I can’t help it. Just saw my accupuncturist (awesome Dr. Tsiang of World Medicine Institute) and she nailed it on the head for me. My outside appearance is very calm and soft, but my inside is hard and raging. Terrible, terrible.
    I would also like to choose to only be with people that I truly like and enjoy, and those are getting to be fewer in number.
    I wish you peace, happiness, and good health.
    And, congrats on your recipe being published!

  6. Carole Says:

    Enjoy your life Gigi. Only you know what is best for your own inner peace and harmony. You have come to this place in your life, and have peace. Indulge yourself in this peaceful life, and serenity will follow.

  7. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    If it makes you happy to be serene and calm, then it is your right to do so..Our only child lives in NYC she is active in many things but she is only 39 years old..When I was younger I was an activist, now I listen to people more and tell them my truth, if they agree fine, if they disagree so be it..I am almost 70 to, my mother died very very young and I am happy to be alive outliving her by many many years and I think she treated all people well and was compassionate and kind..I try to do that to all people..aloha to a sweet human being, enjoy paradise and your hubs too!

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    I agree with your sentiment … do we really need to argue, fight, and hate one another?

  9. Kay G. Says:

    Too much hate in the world. Why can’t we disagree without having such bitterness?

  10. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Im sure many in Aleppo feel the same way. I saw a photo of a 102-year old woman protesting in Washington DC this week.

  11. Beatrice Says:

    Everyone has their own way of finding contentment and enjoyment and there is no one best or right way as you know, Gigi. I am all for relaxing and enjoying myself and let the rest of the world rush about.

Leave a Reply

