I hope David keeps his promise

recliner-004-a

David is the one who sits in this recliner. It’s his throne, and no one else is allowed to sit in it.

Yesterday morning, the area around his recliner was filthy.  I threw a fit when I picked up a Ritz cracker sleeve, and crumbs fell out and littered the floor. I was upset, because we have a problem with bugs.  I also noticed dirty kleenex, popsicle wrappers, junk mail, and old concert brochures.

When David woke up later, I scolded him:

“Don’t you remember what it was like when you were growing up in your parents’ home?  Your friend, Wayne, dropped by unexpectedly and you said, ‘Let’s talk outside.’  This is because your parents’ house was a pig sty.  We can’t allow that to happen here.  When friends drop by unexpectedly, we will say to them, ‘Hi, please come in. Have a seat.  Can I get you something to drink?’”

I recall the two cats his parents had.  One cat jumped on the table while we were having Christmas dinner, and knocked over a glass of milk and then stole my sister in law’s meat.  Filthy cat.

Thank goodness we don’t have animals inside our house.

I want David to take pride in his home. Maintain it. Keep it clean, neat, and tidy at all times.  Then, he won’t be so embarrassed when people arrive without prior notice.

He has agreed to clean the area around his chair before he goes to bed every night.

I hope he keeps his promise.

7 Responses to “I hope David keeps his promise”

  1. Olga Says:

    Your house seems neat as a pin. I do hope David does his part from now on.

  2. DJan Says:

    I suspect that David will not want to get scolded again and will clean his area.

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I too join the chorus: David, if you make a mess, clean it up.

  4. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    We have one cat who is meticulous, he is not allowed in most of our rooms, but he is like a king, he has two huge cat kingdoms and we clean them all the time..I grew up in a pig stye due to tooo many kids and my Mom being ill she died young, I vowed never to live like that, for me neat is simple, clean up as you go..My hubs had a Mom who did not like to cook and clean with 9 kids and no husband around I knew why my hubs learned to clean and cook early and to work and work, everyone including himself would have starved and been homeless..We never see any of his siblings after his mom passed in December 2000 never! They were never close and we had to do everything for his Mom and she had an excellent social security check from her first hubs she was married to for 10 years, he died and she got his money not the man she never divorced and had 9 kids with, he died early 74 and she passed almost at 87..Life has a funny way of Karma I say….

  5. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Good luck. after years living with a Felix, today I live with an Oscar. (Remember the Odd Couple?)

    I was at a friend’s house once when a cat jumped on my head while I was sitting at the dining room table. Cats are unruly. My dogs are very well behaved on the other hand.

  6. Christine Says:

    Hope so too!

  7. Carole Says:

    Yep, if you make a mess, you must clean up after yourself. Good rule of thumb 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving Day Gigi!

Leave a Reply

