Why be so parsimonious?

For Christmas, I have decided to give my daughters a large sum of money. They can apply it to their next trip abroad or to any other needs that have to be addressed.

Life is short. Why be so parsimonious, when I don’t have to be?

I had to laugh when a friend saw my red tablecloth and suggested that I use a white tablecloth in the future. After all, he said, when we enter a fine dining restaurant, we always see white tablecloths, not red.  I told him that red would be less stressful for me, because it would not show stains.  This is a photo of David, Mike, and Suzanne at my dinner party in 2015.  How do you like the red?

Suzanne McCrary 008-A

On the other hand, my Quaker lace tablecloth is stain resistant.  These are photos of guests at my Christmas party in 2008.  David, my mother, Lisa, and Pat:

xmas2008-2-a

Maria, Grant, little Julia, Charles, and Robert:

xmas2008-3-a

10 Responses to “Why be so parsimonious?”

  1. Mary Jane Says:

    I agree with your gift of money for your girls. It is better to give with warm hands than with cold.

  2. Carole Says:

    You set a beautiful table 🙂

    Being generous is a gift, both to the receiver as well as the giver.

  3. Olga Says:

    I rather like that red tablecloth.

  4. Linda Starr Says:

    parsimonious great word, red isn’t my favorite color, but it does look rich on your table, I am partial aqua or turquoise, Ha.

  5. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I love red and at this time of the year where we are going to have snow soon, it brightens up dreary days….My aunt always gave money, the gifts she selected and paid postage for were things she could have sold in her antiques store and were soiled and unappropriate for little kids to enjoy..She meant well, she always put the cash in cute envelopes as I recall and lots of candy wrapped in festive wrap..I say be generous we only live once on this terrestrial and people will know you love them by being kind and sweet and generous, the adage you cannot take anything with you when you leave this earth is true..Aloha to you and your hubs in paradise!

  6. Christine Says:

    the girls are going to be very pleased with their gifts this year, good for you Gigi! The red looks very elegant indeed.

  7. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Thanks for reminding me about sending money to the kids. We have a $10 max rule for gifts that we exchange, but parents have their own set of rules and parsimonious is a wonderful new word for me, which I have to practice and use, mahalo for that too!
    I love your red tablecloth. I have a few pieces of red furniture that I love and I wear red when I am feeling great. Regardless of red or white, you set a very nice table and fill it with friends and family, how special!

  8. dkzody Says:

    Red is terrific and your friend is terrible for making such a comment to his hostess.

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    Either way, they’re washable (I hope!). Good for you for being generous!

  10. Joared Says:

    Would the red show thru the white lace attractively if you put it underneath? But then you’d have two soiled clouts to launder — oh, well!

Leave a Reply

