Dental problems

mariposa-1-a1

At the Mariposa Restaurant:  We were celebrating Pat’s, David’s, and my mother’s birthdays in March 2009.  Pat and my mother are now deceased.

***

Well, guess what, David has dental problems – despite the fact he has his teeth professionally cleaned twice per year to prevent dental problems.

I don’t have any dental problems – despite the fact I have not seen the dentist in two years!

Life is so unfair.

So, this is what happened recently.  David had his teeth cleaned by the dental hygienist.  The following week, he looked like he had a golf ball in his right cheek.  I told him to check it out.  His dentist referred him to an oral surgeon, who extracted his rotten molar.

Then, he consulted a different dentist regarding a dental implant. X-rays were taken, and the dentist told him he had a grey shadow on another molar.  So, he had a root canal, and now is waiting for a crown to be placed on top of that tooth.

Later, he will have a dental implant to replace the other molar that was extracted.

Ugh!  Think of the cost for all of these procedures.

And here I am with no dental problems whatsoever, despite the fact I have not seen the dentist at all during the past two years.

Go figger.

11 Responses to “Dental problems”

  1. DJan Says:

    I see my dentist twice a year, too. I feel bad for David’s predicament, and yes it is expensive work. As we age, it tends to happen, but the dentist should have seen the bad tooth! I’d get another dentist. 😦

  2. Olga Says:

    Maybe it is the luck of the genetic draw. I take good care of my teeth, including professional cleanings twice a year. I have not had major problems but as they age fillings tend to crack or shrink and need replacement so I sometimes have to deal with that. I try to be meticulous because I do not have dental insurance. So far the cost of insurance has not been justified by any dental work I have needed so I continue to press my luck — I definitely did not inherit good teeth.

  3. Carole Says:

    Dental costs are so expensive! And even with preventive work, we sometimes run into problems. Glad your pearly whites are not having any issues 🙂

  4. dkzody Says:

    A lot of teeth issues are genetic. Our daughter inherited her father’s good teeth. Our son-in-law, though, has had one dental problem after another. And they have no dental insurance. I was fortunate to always have really good dental insurance while working. Now, in retirement, our dental insurance only pays 50 percent of the bill, and the cost of the insurance goes up next month.

  5. Christine Says:

    poor David! Gigi you should still go to the dentist every 6 to 8 months I think.

  6. dellgirl Says:

    I feel bad for David. I hope he gets some relief soon. I remember well the days of frequent visits to the dentist for first one thing and then another.

    I wish your both well, especially David with the dental issues. Have a nice weekend.

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    David has our good fortune with teeth. I do not. I hope David takes an antibiotic before each visit. Very important if you’ve had joint replacement surgery.

  8. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I just went to the dentist today and met his new dental hygenist – such a great one! We were talking about some people having dental problems and cavities galore and some not having any problems and perfect teeth – all in the same family.
    Go figger is right!

  9. Beatrice Says:

    As someone who also has had several dental,procedures in the past year, ipI cam empathize with what David is facing. We also decided not to buy dental insurance as the cost vs coverage would not have been worth it. We did learn that the low cost dental franchises can be rip offs. Now we see a dentist in private practice

Leave a Reply

