Claiming to be my grandson

10-29-10-RylanDavid-3-A

David feeding our grandson.  2010.

***

Yesterday, the phone rang. It was a man, with a foreign accent, claiming to be my grandson.  He said he had gone on a trip and needed money.

At that point, I yelled: “This is a scam!  I am going to call the police!”

I was livid and hung up on him.

First of all, my grandson does not speak with a foreign accent.

Second, he most certainly is not an adult who went on a trip and needed money.

Look at my face. Do I look stupid?

What do you take me for? A fool?

Don’t you dare mess with gigi-hawaii.

11 Responses to “Claiming to be my grandson”

  1. Carole Says:

    I’m so glad you immediately realized that this was a scam. These people tend to prey on older folks, hoping to scare them and trick them. The other popular scam is the one where someone says they are from the IRS and that you will go to prison if you don’t send money. We have to educate ourselves and others, so that we don’t become a victim. Thanks for sharing Gigi.

  2. Olga Says:

    Good for you! That was one stupid scammer.

  3. Christine Says:

    that’s telling him Gigi! I get the duct cleaner calls here so annoying. I googled that they come from India and they make money just by you picking up their calls.

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    A friend received that phone call. She recognized it as a scam, and strung them along until the caller hung up on her.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    I don’t think that scammer will get far. Too dumb.

  6. DJan Says:

    Good for you, Gigi. Tell ’em what for. 🙂

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    You should get on the Do Not Call list . . . altho’ maybe you scared him enuf so word will get around and you won’t have to!

  8. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Those people are terrible. Really terrible. Glad you knew what was going on.

  9. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    How can some you know whats do this at holiday time no less..We get phone calls from unkown people we only have one child and she is fine and we speak a lot almost daily…I say bah humbug and a few more choice words to you know what kind of people who try to scam people for money..aloha in paradise….

  10. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I keep telling David to beware of scammers. They are everywhere.

    You asked me about the headstone marker for atheists. Check out the link on my post. Yes, there is a symbol. Number 16, and it looks like the atomic symbol.

  11. Kay G. Says:

    Good for you! We have an expression, “I didn’t just fall off the turnip truck”. I was reminded of this when I read this post!

Leave a Reply

