Words of advice

This is a view of the sunset from my driveway last night:

sunset-002-a

These are colorful crotons, growing in front of my house. It’s like perpetual autumn:

sunset-004-a

sunset-005-a

And this is David, watching a basketball game on TV. Note his cordless headphones, which are intended to keep the peace in our home.  I hate noise:

sunset-015-a

I always tell people that if David and I can co-exist, why can’t they? Even Russia and China co-exist.  Russia has not invaded China, and China has not invaded Russia.  Avoid war; prevent war.

People will never change. They are born with a certain personality, and they will die with the same personality.  Once you realize that, you can either accept them as they are, or you can avoid them and not socialize with them.  No need to argue.  Just leave them alone and walk away permanently.

Another word of advice: Don’t expect too much from people.  If you expect too much, you are bound to be disappointed.

8 Responses to “Words of advice”

  1. Snoskred Says:

    I love my cordless headphones. I can walk right to the other end of the house with them on and still hear what I am watching or listening to. This is super great for doing house chores. 🙂

    You also hear a heck of a lot more than you would listening to something via the tv speakers or even a surround sound system.

  2. Olga Says:

    Technology has given us some good solutions to age old problems. I did have think that David must not be an armchair coach like my dad was. You would still be able to hear him yelling at the players and the coaches and the officials and the commentators.

  3. Christine Says:

    Thanks for all the advice gained from your wisdom gathered over the years!

  4. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Such wise words of advice. I am currently avoiding, taking the flight option rather than putting effort into an unpleasant situation. At first, I was sad, but as time goes on, it feels good to just be out of sight, out of mind and move on.

    So true about expectations. I am getting better, though I do expect a lot from the kids. They might be wiser than me because they have learned not to expect from their mother.

    Hmmm. I sound like a terrible person. Ah well. It might be time for me to do some gardening and feel good.

  5. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I so agree with your, I avoid most of my family by blood and my hubs we never hear from them unless they ask for money and our time and are rude about it..After my mother in law passed 16 years ago two days ago we never heard from many of my hubs siblings, they fight too much, too much drama and are lazy and crude and rude..Why subject my hubs to all that drama he is the oldest and we were kind to his Mom and Dad who never parented and never were that kind and loving to their entire huge brood..My blood family always talked terribly to me and asked for money and got into police crap and I figured they were old enough to figure out their karma..I spoil my hubs and only child, she met several of my outlaw blood siblings half siblings and that was that for her, they were crude and rude about her mother and that was it for her temper, she told them to never speak to me and her daddy and her ever again and it must have worked never hear from them ever..thank God for that..ALoha in paradise, I love your blog, you are a wide, loving, peaceful happy human being and your hubs toooooo, much love and joy and peace in 2017.brrrrr freezing here but I play Hawaiian and Cuban musica and enjoy Opera everyday..aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Mean t to say WISE & LOVING & PEACEFUL HUMAN BEING! Peace to you and yours always!

  7. Beatrice Says:

    Both you and Grenville have said the same tjing…do not expect too much from people and you will not be disappointed…unfortunately I always do and then are disappointed most times.

  8. Carole Says:

    Your comment reminds me of a book “Please Understand Me” by Kiersey – Bates. Essentially the message is to improve relationships by understanding the underlying personality of yourself, and of others. BUT, don’t try to change the other person. It just doesn’t work.

    Thanks for sharing Gigi

Leave a Reply

