Landlords, again?

Ad-rental 002-A

All of my siblings have pieces of real estate that they are renting out for profit.  One sister has an apartment building, another sister has a studio condo, another sister has a room in her townhouse, and my brother’s children have an extra condo — all of these rented out.

So, now, I have decided to get back into the landlord business, myself.  If my siblings can do it, why can’t I?

Our previous tenant paid us $1,000 per month.  But, I think I will lower it to $900 and perhaps increase it to $925 or $950 the following year.

It’s a good source of income.  The only catch is finding a good tenant, who is compatible with us.

14 Responses to “Landlords, again?”

  1. Beatrice Says:

    You were fortunate enough to have found a good tenant before, Gigi, so you shiuld be able to do it again.

  2. Christine Says:

    Hope this tenant will be as good as the last one.

  3. Carole Says:

    The extra income sure would be nice, as long as you can find a compatible tenant.

  4. DJan Says:

    I wish you well on your quest to find the perfect tenant. 🙂

  5. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Always a dilemma. Good luck.

  6. dkzody Says:

    You are very brave to bring a stranger to live in your house.

  7. anonymousonthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    People here in Vancouver Washington where it is 29 degrees and still icy and cold pay that and no blue skies and no sunshine..But for the misery of having a stranger in your home because people today are crazy in my opinion is not worth the money whatsoever..An apt. building is one thing having someone in your home is another beeeee extremely careful and get the money upfront all the way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    It worked well for you before. I can again. good luck.

  9. Linda Starr Says:

    what about a weekly or monthly rental, folks like me looking for a non motel/hotel location for vacation would gladly partake

  10. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Smart to rent out a room, and you can screen them with interviews. There are more good people than bad ones so you will do well.

  11. joared Says:

    Sounds like you have a good arrangement with tenant having a separate entrance. I take it they just rent the room. Wonder if they have their own bath, have kitchen privileges?. Would consider doing the same myself if my house layout permitted more separation for me as you have since I live alone.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      The tenant has his own bathroom and there are a refrigerator and microwave inside the unit. He enters the unit from the backyard through a separate entrance, and does not have access to the main house.

Leave a Reply

