David’s physical therapy

Well, that blog break was short.  I have decided to post periodically as the need arises and visit your blogs periodically, too.  No stress, huh?

Anyway, David has been experiencing back and hip pain for quite some time.  He saw Dr. Akau (orthopedist), who took X-rays, and was told that he has arthritis in his hips and arthritis nodules on his back.  He was referred to Dr. Ching for physical therapy.  Dr. Ching told David that he is lopsided and must center his body.

These are photos of David doing two types of physical therapy, ordered by Dr. Ching.

Lean back and forward:

physical-therapy-005-a

physical-therapy-004-a

Push ups on the bed:

physical-therapy-006-a

David is supposed to do these exercises prior to doing anything strenuous.

 

 

13 Responses to “David’s physical therapy”

  1. Kay G. Says:

    Oh dear, I would have to be very careful, I would tumble over into the sink! Take care, David!
    Does ibuprofen help his arthritis? My Dad has it badly and he says that helps his…a little bit, anyway! Daddy likes to say that “ARTHUR” is paying him a visit. Don’t know why, just to be funny, I guess! xx

    • gigihawaii Says:

      David takes Meloxicam for his arthritis and was told by Dr. Akau (orthopedist) to not take Ibuprofen, because it could cause internal bleeding. He is to take Tylenol, instead.

  2. Christine Says:

    We should all do these, welcome back!

  3. Carole Says:

    Hope he feels better soon! Getting older certainly brings us aches and pains.

  4. DJan Says:

    I do hope it helps get his body centered again. I am glad he can do pushups on the bed, with his knees. 🙂

  5. Karen Barry Says:

    My husband had back and hip pain. He went to a podiatrist for plantar fasciatis and the doctor noticed that one leg was longer than the other ( due to an old hip injury). He made a set of orthotics for the fasciatis and added a lift for his shoe on the shorter leg and that straightened up his spine. A lot of his pain went away. Hope David improves with his exercises.

  6. Olga Hebert Says:

    I know that my husband had great success when working with a physical therapist. I encourage David to keep at it.

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    You are just too funny Gigi. Tell David I feel his pain, I’m off balance too.

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    Probably most of us suffer from some degree of arthritis. I know I do. Tell David to keep up those exercises — they have been saving me from pain and disability for the last 20 years.

  9. DeniseinVA Says:

    I hope those exercises help.

  10. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Gigi, even though I am in relatively good health, I went to see a massage therapist that was highly recommended to me – though she isn’t really a massage therapist. She is truly a healer.

    It is a collusion of massage, chiropractic adjustments, body alignment, healing touch. I only saw her twice even though she said I didn’t need to come anymore after the 1st session. But I insisted because she was so good. She is a small Japanese lady that only takes 4 people a day, and charges only $40 for 45 minutes, but I am there for 1 1/2 hours and she still only charges $40 (I leave her a nice tip).

    I would also suggest curcumin for David’s arthritis. To me, it is a wonder supplement and I give it to our 17 year old pitbull who was diagnosed with arthritis and could barely move 3 years ago. She got all perky again, but this past week she is not doing well because of the cold and her old age.

    Let me know if you are interested in either or both and I’ll send you the info. Good health is so important, especially for your prized best friend and husband.

  11. Beatrice Boyd Says:

    I was also diagnosed with arthritis in recent months and see a chiropractor on a monthly basis now. The first couple of months the sessions were twice weekly. Hope David is feeling better with the exercises. I go to our in-house gym a few times a week.

  12. Joared Says:

    A good friend of mine says exercise in a pool works best for her. Hope your husband feels better as he. works with P.T.

Leave a Reply

