Small world

hawaii-014-a

Coconut trees in Hawaii.

David and I were waiting for a table at a restaurant yesterday, when the couple opposite us asked David, “Is your last name Hinchey?” David said, “Yes.”

It turned out that the other couple is named Glenda and Walter. They are sister and brother residing in a house on Prospect Street.  David and his family lived in the house next to theirs back in the 1950s-60s.  After all these years, they recognized David.

Small world!

What makes it even smaller is the fact that Glenda is my real name, and Walter is the name of my former boyfriend, who now resides in Europe. Seeing the other couple with the same names at the restaurant made me nostalgic for the good old days, when I was romantically involved with my former boyfriend in New York.  I sometimes wonder what my life would be like if we were married to each other.  I guess I’ll never know.

8 Responses to “Small world”

  1. Sandy J. Says:

    Re if you married someone else? I think we all wonder about that — the road not taken. I know I have! Can you find him on facebook just to see how his life turned out?

  2. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Our past choices are what determine our present. Your current life is so blessed, I think you made the right decisions along the way.

  3. Olga Says:

    There is always room to wonder about that first love, but when I see couples whom I know have been together since high school prom, I cannot comprehend it.

  4. Christine Says:

    That is a coincidence!

  5. Joared Says:

    Interesting coincidence. So many different choices we make through the years that could totally alter our lives. Will never know how life might changed for better or worse.

  6. DJan Says:

    It’s an interesting game to wonder what might have been. I do it, too. 🙂

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Old boy friends don’t age well. You made a great decision choosing David.

Leave a Reply

