All’s well that ends well

IMG_0026_edited-1

I took this photo at the Waikiki Aquarium a few years ago.  Aren’t the colors beautiful?

***

Despite my various ailments, which are chronic and incurable, I still manage to be independent and don’t need a caregiver. I can drive, cook, clean, and write a blog.  Not bad for a 71 year old woman.  If I can remain independent and live in my own house until I die, then I can honestly say that my life had a happy ending.

Never mind all the bad stuff that happened previously. As Puck said in Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”:  “All’s well that ends well.”

David is such a good husband. This June will mark our 37th wedding anniversary.  The good thing about David is that he helps me maintain our property and he takes me places.  On Sunday, we will attend the opera (Andre Previn’s “A Streetcar Named Desire,” based on the play by Tennessee Williams).  On the first Wednesday of February, we will take advantage of the free admission to view the new Islamic art exhibit at the Honolulu Museum of Art.  And on the following Sunday, we will record the Super Bowl and attend the symphony (featuring the Brahms’ Double Concerto).  When we get home, we will watch the Super Bowl, rooting for Tom Brady and the New England Patriots.

What an exciting week! I am so looking forward to it.

I am not blind, I am not deaf, and I am not in a wheelchair. As I said, I am independent and don’t need a caregiver.  I am not a burden on anyone.  Life can’t get any better than this.

9 Responses to “All’s well that ends well”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    My daughter, who shattered her arm, was crying in pain one day. She said it could be worse, she could be dead. No, I replied, you could be in a wheelchair from that fall. So, now she just marks off another week over on her calendar, and is grateful she can get well.

  2. DJan Says:

    I feel the same, Gigi. I am 74 and can still hike and walk as much as I ever could, and I enjoy life very much. Yes I have problems and aches and pains, but they don’t stop me. That said, I’m nowhere near the end yet, I hope! 🙂

  3. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Day by day, week by week, you are loved and you are blessed. And you appreciate what you have, and that is wonderful.

  4. Christine Says:

    you do have a blessed life Gigi, not to mention great weather!

  5. anonymousonthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    Just remember you live in paradise, the people who are the longest living of the USA for a reason..Family is most important to people who inhabit Hawaii all the islands, the sun, gentle breezes and the sea..They don’t worry and rush around like in the mainland at all, they welcome lovingly others to their islands and extend love and peace and joy..No where in the mainland are they as long lived and happy no matter their circumstances..but if I could and my hubs of nearly 43 years afford a tiny place we would move to your paradise unfortunately it is the most expensive of all of USA but we would if we could, aloha and keep on truckin as the grateful dead would be wont to say!aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Carole Says:

    So happy for you Gigi. Good health is not to be taken for granted.

  7. dkzody Says:

    yes, Terry and i talk about and give thanks every day for good health and the ability to come and go as we wish. We know so many who cannot say that. A friend of mine says we must stay upright and keep moving.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    And you have a great attitude Gigi. Wishing you a continued happy life.

  9. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Many positives in your life. And you are not that old yet.

Leave a Reply

