Andre Previn’s “A Streetcar Named Desire”

andre-previn-streetcar-named-desire-001-a

David and I drove to the Blaisdell Concert Hall on Sunday to see Andre Previn’s opera, “A Streetcar Named Desire,” which was based on the play by Tennessee Williams. I expected the music to sound like Leonard Bernstein’s jazzy “West Side Story.”  But, Previn’s music was not at all like it.  Rather, it was more like background, incidental music with the voices of the singers in the forefront.

I finally got accustomed to the strange music and singing. The acting was superb.  Towards the end of this tragedy, I found myself weeping, because it was so sad.  It took a while to compose myself and dry my eyes before exiting the concert hall.

David wants to see if he can rent the movie, starring Marlon Brando and Vivien Leigh. It’s an old movie, filmed in 1951, so it might not be available.  I think it won three Academy Awards.

The opera started at 4:00 pm. We got to the Blaisdell Concert Hall by 3:30 pm.

Note the beautiful trees and foliage at the concert hall. Beautiful, balmy weather in Hawaii.  David is wearing an Aloha shirt, and I am wearing a muumuu:

andre-previn-streetcar-named-desire-005-a

andre-previn-streetcar-named-desire-009-a

The lobby prior to the performance:

andre-previn-streetcar-named-desire-015-a

People selling Hawaii Opera Theater (HOT) T-shirts:

andre-previn-streetcar-named-desire-019-a

5 Responses to “Andre Previn’s “A Streetcar Named Desire””

  1. DJan Says:

    It’s a beautiful place you live. I remember that movie but have never seen it performed. Glad to know you enjoyed it so much. 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    what a lovely outing! I envy that summery weather right now!

  3. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I thought of you as I walked to my car from the Blaisdell Center after going to the BIA products show. Glad to hear you liked it!
    The movie with Marlon Brandon and Vivien Leigh was so good – I am sure you can find it at the library. Vivien Leigh went downhill in her mental health after her stellar (not Stella’s, lol) performance as Blanche. She will be my favorite actress because of Gone with the Wind.

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    You could rent old movies from Netflix. Also, you can buy them from Amazon.

  5. joared Says:

    I have especially enjoyed Andre Previn’s music for years. Also, recall seeing movie Streetcar…. very good! Probably is available within the Criterion Series which feature the better classic movies ever made. Would have enjoyed seeing that production you viewed.

Leave a Reply

