Shirokya: Japan Village Walk

On Wednesday, David and I drove to Ala Moana Center to dine at Shirokiya’s Japan Village Walk for the first time.  There was ample parking on the Ewa side street level, and I noticed that I had parked my car near Foodland.  I always like to find some sort of landmark so that I won’t forget where I parked.

Here’s David in front of Shirokiya:

shirokiya-020-a

This is what we saw:

shirokiya-006-a

shirokiya-007-a

David was excited to see this bar, featuring draft beer (Budweiser and Bud Lite) for $1.00 per glass:

shirokiya-019-a

We bought our food from this station, called Pineapple Steak House:

shirokiya-017-a

I ordered the Pupu Plate for $12.80 and a can of passion orange juice for $1.11.  The meal consisted of a vegetable salad with French dressing, chicken, garlic shrimp, fried calamari, steak, and French fries:

shirokiya-003-a

David ordered the same Pupu Plate for $12.80 and two glasses of draft beer for $1.00 each:

shirokiya-001-a

The food was delicious.  We had such a pleasant time at Shirokiya’s Japan Village Walk.  However, we did not know that we could have had a senior discount on Wednesday by showing the sales clerk our ID with our date of birth.  What a shame!  David (age 67) could have gotten 8% off, and I (age 71) could have gotten 10% off. This deal is only available on Wednesday.  No discount on alcohol.

Upon exiting Shirokiya, I was able to figure out where my car was parked by looking for the Foodland sign.  For an old lady, I am doing just fine.

P.S.  I am sorry to report that my blog friend, Dianne Schmidley (see my blog roll), has just had a stroke and is now in ICU at a hospital.  Please keep her in your thoughts, and let’s hope that she recovers.

 

7 Responses to “Shirokya: Japan Village Walk”

  1. anonymousonthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    Next time you dine in that place ask for the senior discount and chalk it up to not knowing about the senior discount! The food looked great and plentiful and yummy..That is not too much money for food that is served to a person..not in Hawaii at all..My friends go to Hawaii and save up to dine out because it is rather on the expensive side, but they stay at a friends condo so they save a bundle..Aloha in paradise!

  2. joared Says:

    That looks like an interesting place with delicious food. FYI Schmidley’s dtr says wants bloggers to know Mother has had stroke.

  3. dkzody Says:

    Thanks, Gigi, for the heads-up about Dianne. We community of elder bloggers need to stick together.

  4. Christine Says:

    The food looks delicious! Sorry about Dianne.

  5. Beatrice Says:

    Very sorry to hear about your blogger friend, Gigi, and thanks for sharing. Senior discounts are a wonderful thing and we always appreciate getting them.

  6. Michelle Says:

    I love reading your “adventures” and the food places you eat at in hawaii. Nice little life going there. =)

Leave a Reply

