Two sons

paint-crotons-mom-grandma-gyotaku-017-a

Plants at Home Depot.

paint-crotons-mom-grandma-gyotaku-018-a

My previous post showed photos of my grandson (age 7) and my granddaughter (age 9).  Today, I would like to discuss what happened to the sons of two mothers I met in the distant past.

One mother told me that she had been taking birth control pills when her doctor told her she was three months pregnant.  She said she had taken the pills regularly and could not understand how she became pregnant.  Perhaps, the pills were old and past their expiration date?  She was not sure.  She was worried and anxious that her son would be abnormal.  When her son was born, she was told that he was healthy and normal.  However, she monitored him carefully during his first year.  She was relieved when he flipped over by 4 months, crawled by 6 months, and walked by 1 year.  By 2 years, he could say “Safeway,” when he saw the sign above the store.  The kid could read!

The other mother was sitting next to her son, who was in a wheelchair.  I asked her what happened to her son.  She said that he had gotten off the bus, tried to cross the street in front of the bus when a truck’s side mirror struck the side of his head.  He collapsed and was in a coma for several weeks in the hospital.  In a split second, his life changed forever.  He cannot speak or walk anymore.  He was awarded a large sum of money from the truck driver’s insurance company.

By now, these two sons must be adult men.  I wonder what they are doing now, as I have not seen their mothers since then.  I hope my own grandson remains healthy and normal.

9 Responses to “Two sons”

  1. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Life is unpredictable. Be well, you and your loved ones.

  2. Christine Says:

    tragic story for that little boy, who knows what fate has in store for us?

  3. Tom Sightings Says:

    There but for the grace of god … may your grandson be well and successful in work and love.

  4. Olga Says:

    I am interested that these two stories stuck with you. Life does seem like a gamble sometimes.

  5. DJan Says:

    Your grandchildren are truly beautiful. What a sad story about that young man hit by the mirror on the bus. I wonder too how it all turned out.

  6. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Life can turn on a dime. I hope the best for both the families.

  7. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    My husbands baby brother never spoke a word until he was about 11 or 12 he is still not a big talker, her fell out of a baby buggy and hit his head and that was that, he works full time for an habilitation place every day of his life, he is sweet, kind and loving and big I mean over 6 feet 2 and can handle people who try to bully him, yet he is loving and kind..No one knows what happened to him when he fell, his parents, poor as hell and no health insurance in the 1950’s out of the 8 kids beside my husband the oldest he is an angel on this earth..I think sometimes it is better to be silent than to open one’s mouth and spew out hate and intolerance. Aloha in paradise!

  8. joared Says:

    Handsome, attractive grandchildren and your previous post reveals what a delight they are to you. I recall when I was pregnant so many years ago that I would be asked if I wanted a boy or a girl — before means were available to reveal that information. I always said, I just want them to be healthy. So, I understand when you describe those two boys how thankful anyone is to have healthy children, how quickly and easily life can be changed, how fortunate families can feel their child has survived as they help them reach their potential, however limited.

  9. Linda Starr Says:

    so true about a split second can change everything; the other day my neighbor’s sister was in the next mountain town shopping and three men came up to her in the parking lot and put a gun in her face and took her purse, car keys and her car. thankfully they didn’t shoot her. I am making a point to look all around me nowadays since we often consider our small town very safe and it is but you never know.

Leave a Reply

