Let the good times roll

paint-crotons-mom-grandma-gyotaku-014-a

Plants at Home Depot.

paint-crotons-mom-grandma-gyotaku-015-a

I had hoped to visit the Honolulu Museum of Art yesterday, since admission on the first Wednesday of each month is free.  The regular price of admission is $10 per person.  However, we had a terrible rain storm and the streets were flooded.  No way could we venture out of our house to visit the Honolulu Museum.  Hence, I have no photos of art to show you at this time.

I spent Wednesday planning a large remembrance party to honor the memories of my deceased relatives:  Mom and Dad, brother Dathan, brother in law Pete, and sister in law Pat.  This party will be held on March 26 at 12 pm in my home.  There will be 20 of us, and the food will be catered by Marian’s Catering.  I have already paid for this lunch by credit card, and plan to add a fruit salad, chips, and coconut cake to round out the buffet.  After lunch, I plan to show everyone a family video, which was taken in 1996, the year my mother turned 80.  People will laugh and cry, as the video will bring back memories of these dearly departed family members.  I anticipate that my remembrance party will be a resounding success.

I always think of my father, who praised me for turning my life around:  “Despite my eldest daughter’s nervous breakdown and despite the fact she was a single mother back then, just look at her now.  I am so impressed.”

You can attribute it to my marriage, which certainly helped.  But, it takes two to have a successful marriage.  David and I have common interests and values.  Let the good times roll.

10 Responses to “Let the good times roll”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    A nice memory. I think of Laura, and how far she has turned her life in the last year.

  2. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    You certainly have stamina, grace, courage and a belief things will get only better, KUDOS to you..ALoha in Hawaii, seattle has had more snow than Minneapolis MN, we live at the far end of the state of Washington it will rain for 6 days but be mild in temps. we thank god we don’t live in Seattle it was a big hassle to all who live and lived there, their excellent transportation system was shut down and some poor motorists were stuck on freeways for 8 hours, oh, my living Lord..a taco truck made a big killing up there they sold out of all their food, 8 hours of ones life they will never get back..Even though it is a lovely innovative and progressive city, we have had it easier here even though the rain and snow levels here in our tiny town were more than 60 years of their records..Aloha and have a wonderful reception/remembrances for your family….

  3. Olga Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time in the works.

  4. Christine Says:

    This will be a wonderful party I am sure, what a great idea.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    Your remembrance party does sound like a wonderful idea.

  6. DJan Says:

    I look forward to hearing about your successful party. That’s a great idea. 🙂

  7. Kay G. Says:

    Your remembrance party sounds wonderful, that truly is a good idea. x

  8. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Your remembrance party sounds great.

    It was interesting to hear that you had a breakdown in your youth. My #1 daughter also had a major one. 4 years ago. She is coming out of it. It is like a gift – how time heals all.

  9. Carole Says:

    So happy for you Gig. You are in a good place right now in your life, and with David at your side, all is well 🙂

  10. joared Says:

    I think this is nice, having the family together to remember those no longer with us. I would thoroughly enjoy such an event, but everyone still living is scattered so about we never manage to all get together in one place at the same time. You’re fortunate and they’re lucky to have you.

Leave a Reply

