University of Hawaii

As you know, the University of Hawaii athletic department opened a sports apparel store, called H-Zone, in Ward Center, but the store is shutting down on June 30 due to poor sales.  David decided to take advantage of the close out sale at H-Zone and buy T-shirts for $10 each.  These are the shirts he bought:

ryans-h-zone-015-a

ryans-h-zone-018-a

ryans-h-zone-019-a

I graduated from the University of Hawaii in May 1968 with a BA in Sociology and a minor in Psychology.  I enjoyed the social sciences and hoped to have a career in social work.

However, when I look back on those years as a UH student, the courses I truly loved were Art History and World Literature.  When I was growing up, I was not exposed to art museums or art exhibits.  Nor did I hear any intellectual discussions about literature.  My parents were not college graduates, and my grandparents were Korean immigrants.

I remember marveling at Professor Norris’ slides of famous paintings by master artists.  When I traveled through Europe in 1969, I recalled what he said about art.  I chuckled while touring the Louvre in Paris and viewing the “Mona Lisa” by da Vinci for the first time.  This painting was covered with tiny cracks due to the fact that it had been painted many centuries ago.  But, what a thrill it was to actually see this masterwork in person.  I felt the same thrill when I saw Michelangelo’s paintings in the Sistine Chapel at the Vatican, not to mention his marble statues in St. Peter’s Basilica.

I also remember my world literature classes at the University of Hawaii.  I’ll never forget reading works by Russian authors, such as Tolstoy’s “War and Peace” and Dostoevsky’s “Crime and Punishment.”  French author Flaubert’s “Madame Bovary” was riveting.  I was fascinated with works by Shakespeare, Homer, Chaucer, and Dante, among others.

Isn’t it funny how courses I took during the 1960s are still cherished many decades later?  I certainly received a great education at the University of Hawaii.

11 Responses to “University of Hawaii”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    Too bad the store is closing but David got a great deal. I enjoyed your memories from the university courses. I love learning something new each day.

  2. Linda Reeder Says:

    I loved being an English Lit major. So much insight is gained through diverse reading of great literature.

  3. Christine Says:

    you have such a fine appreciation for the arts Gigi.

  4. Olga Says:

    I too still recall with fondness the literature classes from university days. Sometimes I think about how my life might have been if I listened to the encouragement I had to focus my education on literature. But in the end I chose to nurture reading and writing in others.

  5. DJan Says:

    Nice shirts David bought for a good price. I remember very little that I learned in college, it’s been so long ago! 🙂

  6. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Good books and good art never go away.

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    It seems university logos are more popular to show support for the sports teams rather than anything else, so maybe it means U. of Hawaii is better at academics than football.

  8. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I, too, went to the University of Hawaii. But, I was a terrible student and hardly attended classes. I was just taking up time and wasting the education, but I did get a degree, because back then, we were supposed to.

  9. Tazer Says:

    I don’t know if, you know this, or not. But all of the stores and restaurants, in the Ward Warehouse. Must shut down by August. So if want to eat some place there, now would be the time.

  10. joared Says:

    Looks like David made some good buys. My nephew graduated from UH, then completed his masters there also, tho he’s long been in NYC. You do remind me of all we gain from a college education well beyond the course work of our majors. Your parents would rightfully be very proud of you.

Leave a Reply

