Moscow, Russia

paint-crotons-mom-grandma-gyotaku-033-a

Plants at Home Depot in Hawaii.

paint-crotons-mom-grandma-gyotaku-034-a

If I were in better health, I wouldn’t mind traveling to Moscow, Russia.  I would love to see the Kremlin, the Bolshoi Ballet, as well as listen to Russian classical music, conducted and performed by Russians in a Russian concert hall.

When I lived in New York City 1970-1975, I was enthralled by the famous ballet dancers Mikhail Baryshnikov and Natalia Makarova, who both defected from the Soviet Union and performed in New York.  I also loved listening to the renowned cellist Mstislav Rostropovich at Carnegie Hall.  He and his wife, who was a well known soprano, defected to the West also.  Alas, I probably will never see such fine ballet dancers and musicians of their caliber perform here in Hawaii.

Because my former boyfriend was studying the cello at the Moscow Conservatory in 1970, I decided to study the Russian language at Columbia University in New York.  Russian sounds like Hawaiian, full of vowels and very melodious.  I was pleased that I received an A for the course.  However, I studied Russian only for one semester and remember very little of the Cyrillic alphabet and vocabulary, other than Da (yes) and Nyet (no).  After all, it was back in 1970.

My mother toured the Soviet Union decades ago, but was unimpressed with the cuisine.  She said all she ate was sour cabbage and bits of beef.  When she left the country and entered Sweden, she was overjoyed to see colorful fruits and vegetables in the Swedish markets, something she did not notice in the Soviet Union.  I have been googling for information about the cuisine in Moscow.  People describe exquisite food in elegant restaurants, so I guess conditions in Russia have improved in that regard.

Hence, there are two countries that I would like to visit:  North Korea (because Grandpa was born and raised there) and Russia (because of the famous Bolshoi Ballet and Russian classical music).

6 Responses to “Moscow, Russia”

  1. Christine Says:

    Maybe you could do a Baltic cruise which includes St Petersburg

  2. Katarzyna Kapłon Says:

    It is not safe destination i know it living in europe. We do not travel there despite it is a great country

  3. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I hope you get your wishes!

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    I saw the Bolshoi Ballet when they were performing in DC the first year I was married. It was an amazing experience. I don’t think I will ever get to Russia but it has the most wondrous sights and I enjoy it through the photos I have seen.

  5. Beatrice Says:

    While I sure that Russia does have charms of its own, it would not be among my top places to visit. First, we would like to see more of the US.

  6. joared Says:

    Russian photos I’ve seen make it seem like an interesting place to visit, but many locales to which I would enjoy visiting — for more than just a quickmin and out.

Leave a Reply

