My spirit soars above the clouds

Sometimes I wish I were living in Manhattan, New York City.  I would love to live on the West Side near Lincoln Center.  What I miss is the excitement and verve of the classical music scene there.

It’s too bad that Hawaii is so provincial.  Ah, well, I have no choice but to continue living here and make the best of it.  I am just too damn old to move to New York City, even if David and I could afford to.

At any rate, we do enjoy attending the symphony and opera at the Blaisdell Concert Hall in Honolulu.  It’s nice to sit with people who enjoy the same kind of music.  Classical music is so uplifting, it makes my spirit soar above the clouds.

These are photos of the Blaisdell on Sunday, when we listened to Beethoven’s Overture to Fidelio, Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 1, and Schumann’s Rhenish Symphony.  The pianist (Zhang Zuo) was from China, and the conductor (Jun Markl) was from Germany.  Excellent performance!

Blaisdell Concert Hall 004-A

Blaisdell Concert Hall 005-A

Blaisdell Concert Hall 006-A

Blaisdell Concert Hall 015-A

3 Responses to “My spirit soars above the clouds”

  1. Carole Says:

    I bet you would miss the beautiful weather if you moved to NYC! The snow and cold can be brutal. So glad you have wonderful opportunities for experiencing a wide variety of cultural events.

  2. Christine Says:

    Glad you enjoyed the concert…Hawaii is the perfect place to retire.

  3. dkzody Says:

    Carole said exactly what I was thinking, you would have the snow and traffic in NYC. Nothing can beat that Hawaiian weather.

Leave a Reply

