Plants restore my spirit, too

Some people like to buy clothes and jewelry.  I prefer to buy plants.  I was not born with a green thumb.  By trial and error, I have learned which plants thrive and which ones do not.  It makes me happy to water my plants, rotate the ferns, and simply admire the flowers and greenery.

Boston ferns, striped ti leaves, mock orange, and hibiscus:

Plants 002-A

Plants 009-A

Plants 010-A

Plants 012-A

Red crotons.  Note the little green leaves in the center of the plant.  I don’t understand the science, but suffice it to say the green leaves will eventually turn red.  It’s like perpetual autumn:

Plants 014-A

My darling anthurium plant on my coffee table.  Eventually, the pink flowers will turn green and brown as they age and die.  See the green flowers?  They are dying:

Plants 016-A

Who needs a dog or cat?  Aren’t plants better?  They restore my spirit just as classical music does.

9 Responses to “Plants restore my spirit, too”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I love my plants the same way, and some new sprouts are coming up, to accompany bulbs that have been in leaf since January.

  2. Olga Says:

    I like having plants around as well. Moving from one place to the other though makes it difficult to keep as many as I would like to have around though.

  3. Christine Says:

    I didn’t know the green anthuriums are dying.

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    Nice … I wish I had a green thumb like you do.

  5. DJan Says:

    If they would only purr they would be perfect. 🙂

  6. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    As much as you love plants and all that we adore kitteh cats, yes we do, we don’t even go anywhere without someone in our tiny home to care for them and watch the house, mail etc..They are like family and they purr..and play and make no messes in our tiny home..As for plants I talk to my pepperomia and my jade plants and welcome each day and watch for their water supply but don’t go nuts watering them..we have daffodils blooking now and tiny hyacinth grape plants and the iris and tulips are pushing forth the only home with any color on a long range in all of our neighborhood, but one lady has Orchids in her home and I stop in and bring her goodies my goodness sakes alive she is 90 and spry shape and so sweet and knowlegable she has a cat that adores me and I get to hold her and she purrs the whole time..I bring her goodies from where we travel and she is so happy, she has outlived all her family, I call her 2 times a day no matter where we are, she is wonderful..so both human and felines and plants can make for a wonderful life, aloha in paradise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    I meant to say daffys blooming & the other plants are near to it!

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    Plants and flowers cheer me also. You have lovely ones inside and outside of your home Gigi. I don’t have a green thumb but I do try and you have given me inspiration.

  9. Kay G. Says:

    Not born with a green thumb, you must have grown one then!

    My husband is the gardener in my house, he is a better cook too but don’t tell him I said so!

Leave a Reply

