Alex, the German geologist

IMG_0029_edited-1

Waikiki Aquarium.

I was a 23 year old tourist, staying in Munich, Germany from mid-December 1969 to early February 1970, when I met a German geologist, named Alex, at the opera.  He was speaking to an American woman, named Andrea, who was seated next to me.  He wanted her to join him on a river boat cruise, but she declined, since she was already involved with a French man.  Long story short, he persuaded me to move from my student hostel to Andrea’s home in a Munich suburb.

Then, Alex invited me and Andrea to a dinner party at his friend’s apartment.  Everyone spoke German, which I had never studied in college.  Andrea had no problem, because she knew the language.  Oh, those three hours were torture for me, sitting around the coffee table, not understanding a word of German.  And, to make matters worse, the dinner consisted of cheese and crackers and wine, something I simply did not enjoy.  Had I known that it was going to be like this, I would have declined Alex’s invitation to the party.

Alex began dating me.  During the last meal we had together, he informed me he was in love with a Hungarian doctor, who was engaged to someone else.  He wanted me to join him on the river boat cruise (the same one he had invited Andrea to).  The doctor would be gambling on that boat.  He said he wanted to make his former girlfriend “jealous” by showing me off.

Arrrrrgh!  I was upset, because I felt that he was using me.  I left the restaurant in a huff and took the taxi back to Andrea’s home.

Much later, I was living in New York City, when I received a postcard from Alex that had been forwarded from Hawaii.  (I had previously given him my father’s address in Hawaii.)  That postcard stated that he would be in Hawaii, and he wanted to see me.  I wrote to inform him of my new address in New York, but my letter was returned as undeliverable due to the fact he had already moved out of his apartment in Munich.

And so ended my brief, platonic relationship with Alex, the German geologist.  It was fun while it lasted.

6 Responses to “Alex, the German geologist”

  1. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    It shall forever be a mystery – what might have been if the stars were in alignment.

    Actually, it was a good thing that they weren’t – because you and David are now together and wonderful for each other.

  2. Christine Says:

    Interesting memories, you were so young and so far from home.

  3. DeniseinVA Says:

    Another very interesting part of your past. We were talking about something today that took place years ago. The older we get we talk about another memory and often say it is like someone else’s lifetime. It really is hard to believe that the people we are talking about is us.

  4. Olga Says:

    you have had an interesting life!

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    Great story! Too bad the mails were slow … would have been interesting, no doubt, to see him again.

  6. DJan Says:

    It makes me realize how much our lives have changed, since everything can be done instantaneously these days, no waiting for letters to cross vast distances. I don’t think this relationship had anywhere to go, so it worked out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

