Peace of mind

3660 on the rise 006-A

David and I at 3660 On The Rise, a nice restaurant in Kaimuki.  (2016)

It took me a long time to reach maturity, but I must say that my life at age 71 is much better than my life at age 21.  Fifty years ago, if you had told me I would be married to a tall, brawny man like David, who was a classical musician and accountant, and that I would own a large, air conditioned house like ours, I would have laughed and said, “No way.  How could that be?”

I have had such a turbulent life, starting with childhood.  Then, there was my awkward adolescence and then my wild twenties, which were spent traveling around the world, finding work as a teacher and secretary to support myself.  I was also involved with many men to my great detriment.

It was because of my daughter, Maria, that I turned my life around and settled down, no longer a free spirit flitting here and there aimlessly.  All of a sudden, I had another human being to consider.  So, it was because of Maria that I married David in 1980, and it is because of my marriage that I have all of this.

My main goal in life is to achieve and sustain peace.  I am so grateful that I live in this quiet home, which is located on a quiet street.  I am grateful that David is easy to live with.  He helps maintain our property, and he takes me wherever I want to go (if I don’t want to go alone).  He is such a good companion.

Above all, I don’t have to live with people who disturb my peace of mind.  David doesn’t harass me like other people do.  He allows me to be myself.

6 Responses to “Peace of mind”

  1. Christine Says:

    You have had a full life and now a good life! Some people live vicariously, even better to have your own experiences.

  2. DeniseinVA Says:

    You are very blessed Gigi.

  3. Carole Says:

    So happy for you Gigi that you have this peace and contentment at this point in you life.

  4. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I was just thinking the same thing today. How glad I was to be older and wiser, because with that comes peace and happiness.

    Let those young people have their gorgeous bodies and faces and all the problems that will come their way. Hopefully later in life, they also come to realize a nice senior life like us.

  5. DJan Says:

    Such a nice picture of the two of you. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

  6. Kay G. Says:

    Peace to you always!

Leave a Reply

