San Francisco and marijuana

There’s a lot of hullabaloo regarding marijuana these days.  I have never smoked it, because I don’t like smoke in my lungs nor do I like the odor of marijuana.

When I resided in San Francisco (September-December 1968), my roommate, Elsa, loved to host parties for her friends in our studio apartment.  Lots of wine and rock music were the norm.  I remember seeing her and her guests sitting in a circle on the floor, passing a joint around.  I sat on the sofa, declining to participate.  I always felt like an outsider back then.

Because of the hippies with their filthy long hair and love beads hanging from their filthy necks and the presence of marijuana and LSD at the parties I attended, I disliked living in San Francisco.  It was such a horrible place to live, and I have not changed my mind.  You can’t pay me to live there again.  Filthy people, filthy city.

On the other hand, I liked this oil painting of Golden Gate Bridge so much that I bought it in 2015 from my friend, Suzanne, who is an artist in Hawaii.  Isn’t it lovely?  I love her attention to detail:

New art 010-A

And, here is David, posing in front of Alcatraz Island Prison in San Francisco Bay in 2016:

David Alcatraz 2016-A

I guess San Francisco is a nice city to visit, but I certainly did not “leave my heart” back there in 1968.  Hawaii is so much better.  I would rather live here than there any day.

8 Responses to “San Francisco and marijuana”

  1. Christine Says:

    beautiful painting! Thanks for sharing your views on San Fran, interesting perspective. That was more my view of LA.

  2. Kay G. Says:

    I can only imagine what it must have been like in San Francisco in 1968. I think I remember reading that George Harrison felt the same way when he was there, he couldn’t leave fast enough! The drugged hippies, thinking they were the beautiful people, he wanted no part of it. (Not to say he didn’t do drugs, I am sure he did but I am only speaking of what I remember he said about San Fran.)
    Nice painting of the Golden Gate Bridge and nice photo of your hubby!

  3. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Very nice painting!

    San Francisco is SO different now. My son’s girlfriend, who has lived there all her life, says that the city has changed into one of rich young techie people who have so much money to spend, and they spend very selfishly and without regard to others.

    I haven’t been there in years. Last time was in 1982. I remember good food and great outlet shopping. My son says to come visit. Maybe it is time to go back, one of these days.

    I agree 100% with you. I love living in Hawaii. So laid back, safe, natural.

  4. dkzody Says:

    We loved our 15 magical months of living in San Francisco and I would move back in a minute if I could afford it.

  5. DJan Says:

    I too love San Francisco and would live there if it weren’t so expensive. I’m sorry you have such a negative view of it.

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    Despite the fact that I’m an East Coaster at heart, I’ve been to San Francisco a number of times b/c my daughter went to school there. I always thought it was overrated not b/c it was filthy but b/c it always seemed cold and cloudy and damp. But Gigi, I think we’re in the minority … everyone else seems to love the place.

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    You have definitely had some interesting experiences in your life Gigi. My sister-in-law lives near there now. I will have to ask her opinion. I have visited San Francisco two or three times and have always enjoyed it, but I am not a big city person like many and would not enjoy living in any big city no matter where it is.

  8. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    My brother lived in san Francisco and was on heavy drugs, two very lovely men who owned the apt. building he almost overdosed and died in called me and helped him or he would have died..I found the people wonderful they helped me navigate my brothers sobriety..It was about 1968..He graduated from Berkeley in horticulture and got many other degrees in his field in California..I am sorry you hate it..I found the people extraordinary and kind and helpful, they saved my brother, I found LA daunting but interesting, loved san diego and adored ventura tooooo! I think one can find good people and difficult people anyplace anywhere..I love where you live it is always sunny and blue skies and peaceful and the people are sweet too. Aloha to you and yours in paradise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

