Happy Days in Kaimuki

On Thursday, David and I dined at Happy Days, a Chinese restaurant on Waialae Avenue in Kaimuki.  We like the dim sum there.  Dim sum consists of dumplings and buns, stuffed with meat, veggies, or custard.  Oh, it’s my favorite thing to eat when I am craving Chinese cuisine.

This is the interior of the Happy Days Chinese Restaurant in Kaimuki:

Happy Days Kaimuki 008-A

This is the waitress, serving food we chose from her cart:

Happy Days Kaimuki 003-A

We ate 6 plates of dim sum, and these are 4 of them:

Happy Days Kaimuki 006-A

This is me (not bad for a 71 year old lady without makeup on her face):

Happy Days Kaimuki 001-A

This is 68 year old David, having a hard time using chopsticks with his arthritic fingers:

Happy Days Kaimuki 007-A

It wasn’t a bad meal for $22.85.  There are other places where you can eat dim sum in Hawaii, such as Jade Dynasty at Ala Moana Center and restaurants in Chinatown.

I remember eating dim sum at the Peninsula Hotel in Hong Kong in 2010.  The dim sum there was so fresh and delicious.

I just love dim sum!

8 Responses to “Happy Days in Kaimuki”

  1. Olga Says:

    OOOO, Yummy.

  2. dkzody Says:

    The first time I had dim sum was with two of my online friends who I also met in 3D for the first time. We met in Oakland at a favorite place of theirs. It was quite the experience. They got me to try chicken feet. Not something I ever ordered again.

  3. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    You were in my neck of the woods! I grew up in Palolo and currently live in Kaimuki.

    The ownership of that location used to keep changing and changing. We were told that there were ghosts in the kitchen and the cooks kept quitting.

    Except Happy Days has been there for years, so that problem must have been cleared up, or peace has been made.

  4. Christine Says:

    I might be having dim sum tomorrow!

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    Fun photos. It all looks delicious and always lovely to see you and David. I first ate dim sum when we lived in California. I could do with having them for breakfast 🙂

  6. DJan Says:

    Nice pictures of both of you! It looks like it was a good restaurant for dim sum. 🙂

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    You’re makin’ me hungry. Methinks we’ll have Chinese tonite!

  8. Beatrice Says:

    I also enjoy dim sum the few times I have eaten it. Looks like you choose wisely. Gigi.

Leave a Reply

