A tough old lady

Hawaii 003-A

Photo of Hawaii.

I am fearless.  I began traveling around the world by myself at the age of 22, and I also went through pregnancy alone at the age of 32.  Now that I am 71, nothing will keep me from being self-reliant.

For some reason, I have always done things the hard way, never opting for the easy solution to my various problems.

For instance, I chose not to have an abortion when my boyfriend and mother told me to do so.  I felt that it was wrong to kill a human being whether it was inside or outside the womb.

I supported myself as a legal secretary during my pregnancy.  Since I did not own a car, I found myself borrowing the shopping cart from the grocery store and pushing it from the store to my home and then returning it to the store and walking back home again.  Imagine doing this when you are 9 months pregnant.

On July 31, I quit my job and gave birth on August 2.  I walked into the hospital alone to check in and walked out of the hospital with a newborn.  Friends dropped me off at the hospital and brought me home.  If they had not offered, I would have just called a cab.

Should something happen to David, I am not afraid to face old age alone.  Where there is a will, there is a way.

I am a tough old lady.

7 Responses to “A tough old lady”

  1. Olga Says:

    You are tough and independent and I know you will remain that way, and there certainly is always a way. Still, enjoy your husband’s company while you still can.

  2. Christine Says:

    Oh Gigi, and now you have David.

  3. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    I lost my mom when I was young, my dad went to pieces, we were all placed in foster care, I took the bus to see my brother and brothers all around the city by myself. I forced myself to learn everything I could to get to graduate from high school one evening and hop a greyhound bus the next day to live with my almost 90 year old grandmother..She did not live long and I was without any of my Mom’s people when I was just turning 21 years of age in a big city san diego, California..I knew there would be a way and I had a will and a good back and mind..My husband of nearly 43 years was the oldest of a second family his mom had a child at 16 and lived with her baby in a loveless marriage over 10 years..She married my husbands father when she was in her middle 30’s and his almost 40’s they went on to have 8 kids one passed as a tiny baby..They were dirt poor and his dad never stayed in one place long enough for anything for his wife and many kids, he also took to drink and women, but my husband said he was never going to live like that so he basically was the head of the household..One has to have a strong sense of self and purpose plus my hubby is a kind and loving person and he treated his family well always have, he is a wonderful loving peaceful human being..We only have one child she lives thousands of miles away we talk each day, we spoiled her with love and affection not personal possessions, she is kind and loving..One has to do what one has to do..You are to be greatly admired because of your beliefs, one cannot change the heart of a human being at all, good for you for your baby at 32 and I bet she is a wonderful wonderful human being, aloha in the paradise state..It must be the sun, sea and the fact people live longer where you reside that makes the people happier and to be able to withstand anykind of situation..aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    You will be fine, no matter what. Yet, for now and each day you have David, you are thankful and know it.

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    I have no doubt about it! Still (as you suggest) it’s good to have friends who will drive you to the hospital, or help you along so you don’t have to face old age all alone.

  6. Carole Says:

    You are very strong Gig, with a great attitude. I think that outlook is a big part of it. As we age, if we cave to old stereotypes, we’ll have a tough time of it. You are a good example of aging gracefully, yet with strength!

  7. Beatrice Says:

    Amen to your self-reliance, Gigi, and to your can-do attitude with the challenges you faced in the past. Thankfully, now your life is very full and peaceful and may it continue so for many more years to come.

Leave a Reply

