The secret to happiness

muumuus-003-a

This is the purple muumuu I am wearing right now.

***

It is around 6:00 AM and, boy, is it raining heavily.  And it’s so chilly that I am wearing a sweater over my purple muumuu.

I am expecting a party of 8 people tonight for dinner:  David’s brother and sister-in-law, who reside in Boston and are spending 2 weeks in Hawaii, as well as Maria and her family.  We plan to serve mushroom chicken, brown rice, fruit salad, green beans, and coconut cake.  We also want to buy a cheese pizza from Pizza Hut to satisfy my 7 year old grandson, but wonder if the rain will let up so we can drive there and buy it.  Yeah, it isn’t snow, but still, who wants to get wet in this rain?

Isn’t it wonderful that the only thing I have to complain about is the rain?

I think the secret to happiness is to have comfortable relationships with people.  If the relationship is not comfortable, if I cannot accept the other person as he or she is, then I just walk away and don’t socialize with that person.  Why bother to argue?  Just walk away.

I also think that it is important to be comfortable with yourself, to accept the fact that certain aspects of the way you look, talk, and act cannot be changed.  If you are born like this, then accept the fact that you cannot change in that regard.  Stop agonizing over it.

Finally, remember that you have only one life to live, so make sure that it is a good life.  The past is immutable.  It cannot be changed.  Focus on today, and make plans for the future.

I sure hope the rain stops, and the sun comes out.  I am ready to play and have some fun.

7 Responses to “The secret to happiness”

  1. Kay G. Says:

    Will Pizza Hut deliver to you? I bet if they did and smelled your good food, they would wonder why you wanted the pizza! (And when you explained you had a little one, I am sure they would understand.) x

  2. DJan Says:

    As you know, I’m accustomed to the rain and don’t mind it. Of course, it helps to have the latest and greatest rain gear. I like your pretty muumuu. 🙂

  3. Olga Says:

    I think you have a very sensible attitude towards life.

  4. Christine Says:

    Have a wonderful party, the food sounds good! Great advice and wisdom for living!

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    That is good advice Gigi. The chemistry is there or it isn’t. No use trying too hard to change it. Life is too short. Enjoy your gathering tonight.

  6. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I had a blue muumuu when I was younger, which your purple one reminded me of. It was my absolute favorite because of the fabric and I always felt special in it, that I looked my best.

    Great philosophy – about happiness. I wonder though, how that could apply to people that are relatives. Rather tough to walk away or avoid them. I can “look” happy, but be uncomfortable.

  7. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    We just don’t see my hubs relatives at all, and my relatives never..Why be miserable around people just because they are relatives..Since my mother in law passed we are not bothered by any of my hubs family and my family was cruel and heartless to me I left them behind when I was 18 when I traveled to southern California to be with my grandmother..she was a pistol and lived the way she wanted to and believe you me no one insulted her or myself..Sadly she passed just a few years after I got to the city of san diego but we made memories for a lifetime. Life is tooo very short to regret having to be with people you simply don’t like, enjoy or have anything in common! Aloha in paradise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

