Exercise

The last time David and I went to the beach was after we returned from India in November 2012.  Here I am at Hanauma Bay in East Oahu with snorkel gear on my head:

hanauma bay 026-A

Since then, I have had no desire to swim or snorkel.  I just don’t like the prospect of being in the water.  A hot shower is all I want these days.

David, on the other hand, enjoys swimming in the indoor pool at the gym every night.  He does 16 laps in 45 minutes.  He says that swimming produces endorphins in his brain and elevates his mood.  This type of aerobic exercise truly makes him happy.

I tend to be sedentary.  Fortunately, I have household chores, so that forces me to get up and move.

Actually, I feel like I have accomplished something by sweeping the driveway and patio every morning:

Grandkids, David, me 021-A

Hence, David needs a pool and I need a broom to get some exercise.  Different strokes for different folks.  The main thing to know is that we are not bedridden.

 

8 Responses to “Exercise”

  1. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    That is SO cute! David needs a pool and you need a broom! I, too, love being sedentary, but I know I should move around more. So I garden when I can, wearing a big hat, long sleeve shirt, and try to cover up my legs.

  2. Christine Says:

    So close to the beach but you don’t go anymore not even to dip your toes in the water!

  3. Beatrice Says:

    I liked your analogy, Gigi, as I am also not a pool person. Pat, however, does enjoy a jacuzzi.

  4. Linda Starr Says:

    I once read that making a bed is the most strenuous exercise. Ha.

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Men’s work and women’s work will never meet.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    Any exercise is good exercise I am thinking. A person can get a good workout with many household chores.

  7. Olga Says:

    when my daughter was in high school she once asked me to write a note saying exercise was against our religion so she would not have to go to P.E…Unfortunately for her, exercise is kind of my religion.

  8. joared Says:

    Oh, I loved snorkeling at Hanauma Bay when I was there years ago! We walked out to what my nephew called Toilet Bowl where he dived in. Annoyed me greatly as seemed dangerously unsafe. My friends swim laps regularly as helps her arthritis and scoliosis. I should walk and exercise more.

Leave a Reply

