Aiming for better health

boat-1-A

This is a photo of me on my boyfriend’s 27 foot sailboat, when we sailed between the Hawaiian islands in 1975.  Look how skinny I was back then at age 29.  I have gained a tremendous amount of weight since then, and it shows.  Arrrrgh!

***

Today, David will undergo a routine colonoscopy at Straub Medical Center.  I will drop him off, return home, then pick him up after listening to the gastroenterologist speak about the results of the procedure.  We will then have our lunch at the Mexico Cantina in Ward Center.

Which reminds me that I should schedule appointments for a mammogram and a colonoscopy, myself.

My father died at age 87 of colon cancer, and my mother died at age 99 of dementia.  If you live long enough, you are bound to die of something.

Both David and I have to take medications for our chronic ailments.  It’s too bad that we are not in better health.  But, David says that by quitting his stressful job as an accountant, he added 20 years to his life.  Stress, as we all know, can be lethal.

I think I should exercise more and eat more vegetables on a daily basis.  Above all, I should strive for peace of mind and focus on the simple pleasures of life.

Too bad we don’t own a sailboat.  On the other hand, I tend to get seasick.

8 Responses to “Aiming for better health”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    I’ve been eating healthy for over 20 years but my underactive thyroid, then plantar fasciitis, then back injury, then both my knee injuries didn’t allow for much exercise, now I am trying to lose weight too, we shall see how well I do. I shop at the farmer’s market and try to have vegetables at every meal which helps me feel full without a lot of calories and I limit processed food which are full of sodium and calories.

  2. Christine Says:

    It came to me that you can eat healthy and exercise and still die early!

  3. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I must admit that I am a terrible eater of unhealthy foods. Healthy vegetarian food can taste wonderful (I went to your sister’s vegan restaurant just before she left) but is so much work that I go for the easy way out.

    My health (age 65) is pretty good, some thyroid issue that doesn’t show any symptoms and beginning high blood pressure.

    One therapy that I am doing right now is PEMF – pulsed electro-magnetic field. It is a control box connected to a mat that I lie on for 8 minutes, twice a day. I have had it for a month or so, and I feel like it is making me stronger and younger.

    I always believed in magnet therapy for pain relief. This PEMF way is much more effective.

  4. dkzody Says:

    Terry just set an appointment for his colonoscopy. I will be required to stay the entire time he is there so I will be available to take him home as soon as he is awake and ready to discharge. They want to clear those beds as soon as possible. There won’t be any stopping to eat, though,as he will be too groggy.

  5. joared Says:

    Good you’re doing what you can health-wise. Genetics does play a role along with all we do ourselves I think. I need to lose some pounds, too. I’ve eaten healthy foods much of my life. My mother was ahead of her time so much was just natural, plus with her philosophy — moderation in all things. Acquaintance I had always ate only half of what she was served when she ate out as servings are usually much more than any of us need. She would take the remainder of the food home.

  6. Beatrice Says:

    Staying healthy as we age is an ongoing challenge. And, like yourself, I also deal with added weight and this is my biggest (no pun intended) downfall. Hope all went well with David’s procedure.

  7. DJan Says:

    I also hope all went well with David’s colonoscopy. And I struggle with my weight every day, but the last five years have been able to keep it steady by not eating out very often and making sure I don’t eat anything after 5:00pm. 🙂

  8. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    One can be vigilant and still get illnesses as one ages, it is just a fact of life..Don’t beat yourself up over weight or anything..Stress is a big killer, I have been told accountants make great money but their is a big price they pay men and women, deadlines and lots of bosses who are nit pickers and clients complaining about everything..Good your husband is not doing that job anymore, he will live longer, the fact you live in a healthy state and gorgeous weather and laid back people who value the flora and fauna adds many years to your life and your husband tooooo!! Aloha to you in paradise, if we could ever afford it we would move there and enjoy the ocean and sun and breezes and lovely, loving people as witnessed by your relatives graduation celebration.

Leave a Reply

