David’s sports world

Hawaii 002-A

This is a photo of a surfer, shown on TV years ago.

***

Through osmosis, I have gained quite a bit of knowledge about sports.  How can it be otherwise, when I am married to David, a man who watches sports on TV daily and enjoys talking about athletes, coaches, and their money?

For instance, David informed me that Michael Jordon is the richest NBA player in the world, with assets amounting to $1 billion even after giving a big pile of dough to his ex-wife in a divorce settlement.

David also told me that NBA coach Steve Kerr regrets having back surgery, because it has led to nausea and extreme pain.  He has had three surgeries so far, but is still sick, unable to coach the Golden State Warriors.

On the other hand, golfer Tiger Woods has had four back surgeries and now claims to have instant relief from pain after his fourth.  However, he is not allowed to twist or turn until his back has healed.  The verdict is still out on that one.

David is so into sports, and he drags me into the sports world simply because of his passion for the game.  He is seriously considering attending the Clippers exhibition game when this NBA team comes to Hawaii in the fall.  He will have to go alone, because I dislike sitting for hours.  Years ago, he took me to a Lakers exhibition game, and it was sheer torture for me.  Boring and tedious!

However, I do like to read the sports section of the newspaper every morning, just to know the outcome of any particular game.  To me, knowing the final score is important, not watching the game, itself.

This year, I predict that the Golden State Warriors will beat the Cleveland Cavaliers and win the NBA Championship.

9 Responses to “David’s sports world”

  1. dkzody Says:

    I don’t follow any sports, but I have friends who are with you on the Golden State Warriors prediction.

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I barely know a goal post from a hoop. However, I do hope Cleveland wins again. If you followed the story of LeBron, he has morphed from a ghetto child to a responsible man. I’m sure this will be his last year playing. All the best to him.

  3. Olga Says:

    I pay little attention to sports. Even so I knew much more about team sports than my husband did. Now if history was a sport, he would have excelled.

  4. Christine Says:

    I hope your team wins!

  5. DJan Says:

    I don’t follow sports but have enough friends who do that I seem to know who’s up and who’s down. 🙂

  6. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    you are such a considerate wife to follow sports because of your David.

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    Gregg loves his sports also. I was never one who enjoyed sports even though my own father played cricket, soccer and boxed in his youth. However, back in those days, girls were not encouraged to follow such things and to this day I don’t really enjoy it. We do watch golf together which I enjoy.

  8. Beatrice Says:

    Neither Grenville or myself actively follow sports, although we do enjoy going to a baseball game at the stadium here in Nashua which features college players. We also enjoy some outdoor sports like hiking and cycling but are more recreational participants.

  9. joared Says:

    You hit a note here — my husband had been a sports participant and continued to be a viewer the rest of his life. I became a little over dosed on so much TV sports eventually, but did receive a lot of information by osmosis, much as you describe, so we could have reasonably intelligent discussions about some of the games and issues. After he died, I gradually began to realize how out of touch I was becoming on my current sports knowledge.

Leave a Reply

