It’s good to have a Plan B

DSC00052-A

I would miss Honolulu, Hawaii, if I had to move.  That white structure in the background is our state capitol.

***

I wish the U.S. Navy would hurry up and encapsulate with concrete the gigantic fuel tanks sitting 100 feet above our water aquifer near our house.  One tank has already leaked 27 thousand gallons of jet fuel into the water, though so far it hasn’t affected our water quality yet.  Can you imagine bathing in jet fuel?  How would you wash your hair and body with contaminated water?  Much less drink it?

What is the Navy waiting for?  Encapsulate those fuel tanks with concrete.  NOW!  Those tanks were installed during World War II, so they have become rusty and corroded.  With every passing year, they become more rusty and more corroded.  Sooner or later, more tanks will leak, and then, what will happen to our drinking water?  Aaaargh.

If that happens, we will have to abandon our house and move elsewhere.  What is our Plan B?  I had thought of moving to another island, such as Kauai, or to another state, such as New York.  But, at my age, I will probably live near my daughter, Maria, so that she can help me.  And,  of course, I would have to consider where David would want to live, too.

My Plan B would also apply to other disasters, such as earthquakes, hurricanes, sink holes, etc.

It’s good to have a Plan B.  Don’t think for a second that bad things won’t happen to you.  If they don’t, fine.  But, if they do, what will you do?

6 Responses to “It’s good to have a Plan B”

  1. Christine Says:

    I should have a plan B you’re right.

  2. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    i am thinking of plan b, c, d. right now i am fine buy my broken arm has been a revealing look into the future – one day i will need help.

  3. dkzody Says:

    When you live a long life, then you do have to expect things to happen, eventually. Always good to have some ideas about handling the bad things.

  4. Olga Says:

    When I was selling my house, my grandson thought it would be a good idea for me to move in with them. My daughter did not seem to have the same enthusiasm.

  5. DJan Says:

    Yes, I think it’s a good idea to have a Plan B. I hope it doesn’t happen to you, though.

  6. joared Says:

    Having a Plan B sounds wise. Clean safe water is an important issue to me. You should rattle some cages with your government reps (local, state and federal) to pressure the Navy on those tanks — that’s terrible. Question the issue with local media — maybe they’ll followup on it.

Leave a Reply

