Finding peace in my garden

Recently, I jumped into my car and drove to Home Depot to look at their new plants.  It’s the best thing about my life that I can do something like this at any time of the year.  It’s perpetual summer here in Hawaii, and plants don’t usually die during the winter as is the case on the mainland.

I found this plant, which is a native of Thailand.  Sorry, I don’t recall its scientific name, and the tag did not give its common name.  But, what makes this plant so unusual is that the top colorful leaves eventually turn dark green.  I bought four pots:

Patio 002-A

Patio 024-A

I rearranged the existing plants in my patio by placing all of the hibiscus together on one side and by alternating the different types of ti plants on the other side.  Those are Boston ferns hanging above the ti plants:

Patio 013-A

Patio 020-A

I love what my Vietnamese neighbors are planting in their side yard.  Eventually, there will be a grove of beautiful green trees to mask their house:

Patio 023-A

I just love my plants!  How I wish my father were alive to enjoy these plants with me.  I am so like my dad.  I, too, find great peace by sitting in my patio and appreciating my container garden, looking at the bright blue sky, and absorbing Vitamin D from the sun.  Life can’t get any better than this:

Patio 006-A

6 Responses to “Finding peace in my garden”

  1. Christine Says:

    This is a wonderful peaceful time of your life, love your plants!

  2. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    i love your plants and the way that you arrange them. indeed, you enjoy life!

  3. Olga Says:

    You have lovely plants and they are arranged so attractively. You are indeed fortunate to enjoy life in Hawaii.

  4. dkzody Says:

    I just bought pots of lavender at Orchard Supply. I have read that lavender plants will keep misquitos away (and some other bugs). We’ll see. The plants are quite pretty, so even if they don’t work on the bugs, they will make me happy to see them.

  5. DJan Says:

    Very nice container garden. Plus you don’t have to deal with slugs in a container, right? Or weeds. 🙂

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    You have a lovely collection, very tastefully arranged.

Leave a Reply

