Why we retired

Japengo 004-A

At a hotel in Waikiki.  The Hyatt Regency, I believe.

***

A 99 year old man said on TV that he keeps on working, because he likes the people he works with.

David said, “Wow, would you say the same thing?”

Me:  “No.”

The primary reason we quit our jobs is that we did NOT like the people we worked with.  Fortunately, it was financially feasible for us to retire.

We have a pretty good retirement.  The kids no longer live here, and they are self-supporting.  We can pick and choose the people we socialize with.  We don’t have to pretend to like people we don’t like.  We don’t feel we have to impress anyone.

Basically, we keep to ourselves, puttering around the house and garden, listening to classical music and watching TV.  Now and then, we go to the concert hall or art museum or restaurant or someone’s party.

Our lifestyle might be boring to some of you, but we think it’s heavenly, as we have no interpersonal stress.  We both feel that by quitting our jobs, we added 20 years to our lives.  No kidding.

7 Responses to “Why we retired”

  1. Olga Says:

    I know that leaving the stress of my job was what I needed to feel healthy again. I feel fortunate that I was able to retire and I am content with my life as well.

  2. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    i still work, sort of. i have been waiting and waiting to be able to retire completely but won’t be able to until the person that i am training can take over the bookkeeping and admin tasks. quite frustrating, but it is slowly (almost been 2 years of training!) coming to fruition.

    i shouldn’t grumble. i still get good income and the workload is so very light. i work out of my house, by myself, on my own schedule.

    if i ever do decide to work for someone else, getting along and liking co-workers would be very very important.

  3. Christine Says:

    come to think of it I quit my job also because I didn’t like the people I was working with, never really admitted it but it’s true. I thought my kids would benefit from me being at home but it wasn’t the main reason.

  4. DJan Says:

    I loved my job and the people I worked with but I sure was ready to stop all that traveling and hard work! It is the main reason we moved away, too: in order to actually get a chance to have a new life. It’s been wonderful for us. 🙂

  5. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    My hubs of just 43 years worked like crazy at a grocery company when he turned 50 the company started acting funny towards all the people who turned 50 then he got his new coat stolen and other items from a locked locker, that was it for him..plus the fact most people who retired died the year they retired just went to bed or in their arm chairs dead..He came home one day and said that is it for me..I never once said no and would never..I worked with yahoos in private work and the federal govt. real nut cases and I mean nut cases I never associated with any of those people and hated trudging out to work daily I thought we can do better and we have. We have never regretted retiring but not from life since 2008..The big company my hubs worked for tried to not pay him for his last month I got all Wonder Womanish and said we will take you to court as soon as we can, boom shakala we got the paycheck..We had 3 going away celebrations 2 with the few still alive and kicking from his employment and 1 with family…I say either enjoy what you do and the people you work with or get out, life is do damn short..Aloha in Hawaii…ciao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    Gregg has been retired for four years now, I retired three years before that. We are both enjoying life in retirement and not a day goes by that we are bored. There always seems to be something to do, even on the quiet days. I keep forgetting to tell you how much I enjoy your photos at the top of each post.

  7. dkzody Says:

    I love the people I worked with, so much so that we still see each other once a month or so. I often run into those who are still working but knew me when I was teaching. They have heard about the retiree gatherings we have and comment on how they wish they could join us. Even the young teachers! They tell me how much they miss me.

Leave a Reply

