Creators and analysts are never bored

I am 71 years old.  Most of my life is behind me, and I have a short future ahead of me.  I hate to put a cap on my life, but realistically, I probably have another 20 years to go, give or take a few.  My father died at age 87, and my mother died at 99.

Having said that, how will I spend the rest of my life?  By being creative.  I experiment in the kitchen, write a blog, and design my garden.

In fact, two of my original recipes have been published in the local newspaper along with photos of my food.  One was an apple recipe, and the other a shrimp recipe.

My original recipe for apple cobbler was published in the Honolulu Star-Advertiser last year.  I drew a black line around it:

StarAdvertiser Apple cobbler 005-A

Here’s a photo of my apple cobbler, as published in the newspaper:

Gigi's Apple Cobbler 009-A

Here’s a photo of the entire pan:

Gigi's Apple Cobbler 002-A

If you want the recipe, please type “Gigi’s Apple Cobbler” in the search bar at the top right of the computer screen.

If you want my published shrimp recipe, type “Gigi’s Shrimp-Broccoli Stir Fry” in the search bar.

I keep telling David to be creative, but he said he prefers to be analytical.  He is pretty good at analyzing, I must admit.  He estimated that our property tax will increase by $90 this year, based on the appraisal and tax rate.

Creators are never bored.  Neither are analysts.  We need both to make the world go around.

Just don’t sit and watch TV all day.  Your brain will certainly atrophy from lack of use.

7 Responses to “Creators and analysts are never bored”

  1. Christine Says:

    Your cobbler looks amazing!

  2. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Keep on creating, and David, keep on analyzing!

    I love being in my Golden years. I always thought that I would have Uncle with me, but it was not to be. Still, life is good.

    Thanks for being a blogging friend. You inspire me.

  3. dkzody Says:

    Being creative is part of the fun of being retired. The daily grind of work doesn’t get in the way of the creative thoughts.

  4. Olga Says:

    As long as you keep feeding the mind — whether creative or analytical. I love having the time and the means to pursue creative endeavors at this point in my life.

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    How wonderful to have your recipe published. I will have to make it as it looks very yummy. You and David are a perfect mix. I say the same for Gregg and myself, though he is a creative influence in the kitchen since he retired.

  6. Beatrice Says:

    I agree with your comment about creative types and analysts and good that you and David complement one another. The recipe looked delicious just from the photo.

  7. joared Says:

    Interesting, as I hadn’t thought about the analytic creative concepts — my husband was both I think. I’m not sure where I fit — guess it depends.

Leave a Reply

