Glad that he doesn’t drag me to church

David and I celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary at 100 Sails last Wednesday:

100 Sails-37th wedding anniversary 003-A

100 Sails-37th wedding anniversary 009-A

David is upset that NBA star Chris Paul will be joining the Houston Rockets instead of remaining with the Los Angeles Clippers.  David is upset, because he recently purchased a ticket for $44 to see the Clippers and the Toronto Raptors play an exhibition game in Hawaii in October.  I won’t be attending the game, because it doesn’t interest me.  But, this has been dominating our conversation ever since we read about the Chris Paul fiasco in the newspaper.  David keeps saying, “The game will be boring without Chris Paul, who is the star I wanted to see.”

I wish I were the type of wife who joins her husband in every activity that interests him.  Alas, I simply don’t enjoy sports that much.  In fact, I don’t enjoy movies or TV that much, either.  David is a movie buff, who constantly watches movies on Netflix as well as at the movie theater.  The last movie I saw with him was “Bridget Jones’ Baby,” which I thoroughly enjoyed.  I prefer British films such as “The English Patient” and “Anna Karenina” and “Pride and Prejudice.”  American movies tend to be boring and stressful, as I hate violence and special effects.  But, I did like Woody Allen’s “Annie Hall” and “To Rome With Love.”

Hence, the only things that David and I mutually enjoy are classical music, art museums, parties, restaurants, and my blog world.

I am glad that he doesn’t drag me to church.  He doesn’t attend church services, as he is a non-believer and so am I.

8 Responses to “Glad that he doesn’t drag me to church”

  1. Olga Says:

    I would not want a partner who expected me to share every single interest and who might resent interests of my own. I think you have enough things in common to make a good marriage.

  2. Beatrice Says:

    It’s not necessary to both enjoy the same things as you have pointed out, Gigi. We do many things together, but know we are each free to pursue our own interests too.

  3. djjazzyjoel Says:

    I’ll give you $10 for the ticket David

  4. Christine Says:

    It’s a good thing to have different interests I think.

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    When B and I started going out together, I told her right at the beginning that I wouldn’t be around on Sundays. I usually play golf on Sunday. “Oh, that’s okay,” she replied, not bothering to disguise her relief, “I have my own things to do on Sunday!”

  6. joared Says:

    I used to enjoy a certain amount of sports, but a steady diet of being constantly exposed to them on TV by my husband overdosed me for a variety of reasons so that I came to dislike them. Frankly, I think relationships can be healthier if each bring some interests new to the other in addition to those they share.

Leave a Reply

