Keep it or get rid of it?

Indonesian art 002-A

David and I have decided to install a split air conditioner in the dining area.  An appraiser will come here on Wednesday to give us a price.  These two oil paintings were purchased for $100 each from a friend, who had bought them when she lived in Bali, Indonesia.  I like the painting on the right far more than the one on the left.

Indonesian art 007-A

The new air conditioner will be installed above this painting, which means the painting will have to be lowered — so low that the dining chair will bang against it.  We could relocate this painting, but do we really want to keep it?

There is something disturbing about this art.  It looks weird.  I must say that it is a conversation piece.  A few years ago, my very young granddaughter, Julia, stared at it before asking me, “Which is the boy and which is the girl?”  My sister, Lucille, said, “This looks like it was painted by a child.”

Well, art is in the eye of the beholder.  I guess we will have to make a decision as to whether or not to keep this painting or relocate it to some other wall when the new air conditioner is finally installed.

Keep it or get rid of it?  Momentous decision.  I wish life were simpler.

8 Responses to “Keep it or get rid of it?”

  1. DJan Says:

    I myself would keep it, but as you said, art is in the eye of the beholder. 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    either way the air conditioner’s a good idea!

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I would sell it.

  4. Olga Says:

    It’s a very colorful painting, but your style seems very uncluttered. If you don’t love it, let it go.

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    Great idea on the air conditioner. With our humidity I couldn’t do without ours. Well, I guess I could if I had to, but I would not be moving! We are in the middle of getting rid of a whole lot of things. I have a hard time saying goodbye to paintings. Whatever you decide I am sure it will be the right choice for you.

  6. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Seems like you don’t really like it. Mari Kondo (Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up) says to only keep what sparks joy, Since it gives you weird vibes and not joy, get rid of it. Someone else will like it.

    Once your AC is installed you will have a better idea of what to do on that wall. I love that kind of “problem” – finding pieces to fit just right.

    I would also suggest that you put in a small unit (maybe as small as a 9,000 btu split unit) since you already have the larger unit further down in the room. If you put a bigger btu unit, your food will get cold since it will be facing your dining table and the air flow will be too much, imo.

    A better option might be the brown wall with the tulip picture but might not be possible because of it being an interior wall.

    Also, sometimes, having a ceiling fan works well with an AC in a square room. In a long rectangular room, not so well.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Good point — whatever sparks joy. That is a good rule to live by. As for 9,000 BTU, that’s a good point, too. Let’s see what the appraiser says on Wednesday.

  7. Beatrice Says:

    if you are unsure of whether or not to keep the painting, why not donate it to a local thrift store and then if they sell it, it will be a good thing for the store and you will feel good as well, Gigi.

Leave a Reply

