Poetic justice

Travis Shanna wedding 066-A

This is a photo of David and me in 2014.

***

A relative of mine (I’ll call her X) hired her best friend’s daughter (Z) to be her husband’s secretary.  Before you know it, Z and X’s husband (Y) were having an affair.  X divorced Y, and Y then married Z.  Thirteen years later, Y committed suicide, leaving behind his second wife and their disabled, handicapped son.  Y also had two other children from his first marriage.

I call that poetic justice.  The wheels of justice turn inexorably, and evil deeds will never go unpunished.

Why do people get married anyway?  Divorce is so common in America.  Why not just shack up with your lover, and when the relationship is over, it is over.  Move out and move on.  No nasty divorce would be necessary.

Ah, well, enough of this diatribe.

So far so good.  After 37 years, David and I are still married.  It’s our first marriage, and we now have two daughters and two grandchildren.  I am glad I married David, and I hope he feels the same about me.

7 Responses to “Poetic justice”

  1. dkzody Says:

    Legalities. It’s a good thing to have a contract should you ever decide to split company or if one dies. Especially if there are children. I always told my students this. I’ve seen the messes made by people “living together” without a legally binding document, i.e., a marriage certificate.

  2. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    That was a sad sad situation.

  3. Christine Says:

    What a horrible story Gigi, all to common.

  4. DJan Says:

    Sorry to hear this awful story. That is a good picture of the two of you, though. 🙂

  5. Olga Says:

    I have no comment on that story, not knowing all the particulars.

    I do have to echo that the picture of the two of you is very appealing.

  6. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    Judge Judy on the tv show Judge Judy always tells people who cohabit, you better be watching what is going around in your relationship..People who live together have no regard really for the other person in my opinion, once they split there is no real justice for either party..Either it is legal or it isn’t, in my book..Married 43 years and we are happy, one must be honorable in this life or one pays in this life and it falls on your family tooooooo…Aloha in paradise..!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Beatrice Says:

    That was an unfortunate story, Gigi, that is most holds some truths in different circumstances. As to why people marry and then divorce, that is a good question and one which I could not answer. Congrats to you and David on making your marriage work because in many cases that’s what it takes and something people do not want to do

Leave a Reply

