Summer Fun Finale – 2017

Last Friday, David and I attended our grandkids’ Summer Fun Finale at a nearby district park.  The theme was “World Tour”:

Summer Fun 001-A

Summer Fun 002-A

That’s Rylan in the green shirt and green eye glasses:

Summer Fun 006-A

Julia is somewhere in this group:

Summer Fun 017-A

After the program, David and I posed with Julia and Rylan:

Summer Fun 019-A

Our grandkids with their parents, Maria and Grant:

Summer Fun 021-A

We all had such a great time.  The grandkids got some exercise, and the rest of us enjoyed the music and choreography.

However, David and I almost fell when we were going down the steps after the program, as each step was very tall and there were no hand rails.  I had to jump down, almost twisting my ankle.  David complained that I should have given him my hand to stabilize him, because he had to lean on the person in front of him.  Next year, he intends to bring his cane.

These steps reminded us of the tall steps in India, climbing up and down the mosque and the Taj Mahal in 2012.

We are showing our age, aren’t we?

14 Responses to “Summer Fun Finale – 2017”

  1. dkzody Says:

    This appears to be a gymnasium? You were seated on bleachers? Those can be hard to climb. I try to only go a few rows up when I have to sit on bleachers.

    However, at Christmas, when our granddaughter performed in a dance recital in a gym, and I had to go to a rehearsal, small grandson climbed all the way to the top of the bleachers and so I followed suit. I was careful going down.

  2. Olga Says:

    My, your grandchildren have grown so much since the last time you posted about them. Good thing we are not aging as quickly as they are! (I like it my state of denial.)

  3. Christine Says:

    The grandkids are growing up so fast!

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I look at all the stairs with no hand rails and am appalled.

  5. Carole Says:

    So glad you didn’t fall! Love the pics. Looks like a fun time!

  6. DJan Says:

    They are growing up so fast! Glad you didn’t twist an ankle.

  7. Cathy Says:

    It’s either sit near the bottom with a limited view or climb closer to the top and risk your life coming down 😊

    I find the trick with stadium seating is to sit near the end of a row, near side if possible. That way you can ‘hang on to’ the metal hand rails as you try to clambre down – that’s if there are some. Or rest your hand on the wall.

    Good to hear you both ‘landed’ safely at ground level. It’s certainly not easy for us little short ones or the infirm.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    Looks like a very enjoyable event Gigi and you have a lovely family. Those steps, however, sound treacherous. I would have to go down on my derrier, too much information I know 🙂

  9. Beatrice Says:

    The day’s events looked like great fun for the grandkids, Gigi, but sorry to read about those steps. I would have had difficulty with no handrail.

  10. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    A cane will be a good idea next time. Take your time. Each moment can be good or bad, so do what will be good.

  11. Tom Sightings Says:

    Quite a crowd! And be careful!

  12. joared Says:

    Looks like a fun time! We just can’t climb around like we once did, or hop up and down steps. When did that happen?

Leave a Reply

