Weeding and back pain

David has been diagnosed with arthritis of the spine.  He thought he might need back surgery, but the orthopedist at Straub Medical Center advised against it, as it might make his back pain worse.  David was told to avoid repetitive bending and to let someone else pull the weeds — meaning me, his wife.

Well, I don’t have arthritis of the spine, but I, too, have back pain when I bend over to pull weeds.  After 15 minutes of bending, I have to rest flat on my back on my firm bed.  After 30 minutes, the pain goes away and I can resume activity.

David thought that this stand up weed puller would help, but it is only good for dry dirt, not moist dirt.  The weed puller pulls up too much mud, when the dirt is moist:

Stand up weeder 006-A

Stand up weeder 002-A

I suggested sitting on a low stool, but that would still involve bending from the waist.  Then, David considered sitting on a yoga mat, but he might have a tough time standing up after sitting for so long on the yoga mat.

Solution:  Just do a little weeding on consecutive days, instead of doing all of the weeding all at once.

10 Responses to “Weeding and back pain”

  1. Christine Says:

    Poor David.

  2. Beatrice Says:

    Weeding is really the base of our existence as we age. I’m sure we will encounter some when we check on our (still unsold) VA home next week.

  3. dkzody Says:

    Perhaps you can hire a neighbor kid to do the weeding. Or how about your grandkids? They’re old enough to know a weed from a plant.

  4. Carole Says:

    Oh, I hate weeding! And back pain can really cause problems with every day functioning. Just did some this afternoon, and I know I’ll pay the price tomorrow 😦

  5. Cathy Says:

    Dkzody took the words out of my mouth. Encourage your two young ones to ‘help’ their grandparents – I’m sure they won’t knock back a dollar or two.
    Failing that see if there are any volunteers at your local Uni – if there’s an agricultural course they might have to do a certain amount of community work

  6. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I may be in the minority, but I LOVE weeding! I weed my grass, one square foot at a time and always get carried away and keep weeding until it gets too dark out to see.

    I used to have to rest in between days after a weeding binge because my hands, shoulders, back and body would be in pain and stiffness. Then, back I would go and marathon weed again.

    However, I bought a BEMER because I was doing chelation and wanted this machine to make the chelation more effective. 8 minutes in the morning, and 8 minutes later in the afternoon, lying on the mat which has pulsed electro-magnetic fields in chosen intensities.

    I feel that it is the fountain of youth. Soon after I started using it, I would go out and weed for hours, and the next day, no pain or stiffness, anywhere! This had been going on for weeks until I broke my arm.

    But, I digress. I LOVE to weed!

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    A little bit at a time souds like a good idea. Thanks for showing that weed puller. I am going to check on them next time we go to the hardware store.

  8. DJan Says:

    I don’t mind weeding if I do it a little bit at a time. I use a stool to sit on, and they make those kneeling padded benches just for weeding. I like the idea of hiring someone younger to do it for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

