Bad luck. Good luck.

Oct 1986 001-A

This is an old photo of David and our two daughters, Lisa and Maria, at Waikiki Beach.

***

A few months ago, we were at a restaurant, when David said he could not find the $25.00 gift card he needed to pay the bill.  The gift card must have fallen out of his wallet, when he pulled out his credit card at another store or restaurant.  David was very upset with himself and wailed about it constantly.

Last week, David was in the Costco parking lot, when he found $2.00 on the ground.  He was so happy.  Yippeeeee!!!  He couldn’t believe his good luck.

When he came home and told me about finding the money, I told him he should have left it on the ground so that the rightful owner could retrace his steps and find his money.  That would have been the honest thing to do.

David replied, “I am not stupid.  After all, the person who found my gift card didn’t leave it on the ground for me.”

Bad luck.  Good luck.  I guess he has a point.

That’s your laugh for the day.

8 Responses to “Bad luck. Good luck.”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    That is a lovely picture of David with the girls. We found a wallet on the ground with a lot of money, and several cards. Someone must have dropped it as they got into their car and we drove into their parking space. We took the wallet into the store in case the customer went to the service desk. I still wonder about it and hope it found its way back to its owner. With hindsight I’m thinking maybe we should have contacted the owner ourselves.

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    My mother would have stood there for quite some time, looking for the person who dropped it.

  3. Christine Says:

    I feel David’s pain for the $25 gift card. Oh well.

  4. Olga Says:

    Funny that finding $2 can make up for the loss of 25.
    I had a purse stolen once on a weekend in Boston. There were credit cards in it which I promptly cancelled, but all my cash was in my pocket. Must have been looking for cash because the purse was discarded in the parking lot and someone ended up returning it to me. The credit cards were still there, although now useless, but I was glad to have my license and insurance cards back.

  5. DJan Says:

    I lost my wallet once while traveling and thought it was gone forever. However, it showed up in the mailbox, everything was there, including almost $100 in cash. 🙂

  6. dkzody Says:

    You lose some, you win some. When there is no name attached to the item, you can’t do very much about it.

  7. anonymousinthemainland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    I found a young girls wallet and her many bills ready to be mailed, I walked in a very hot day to the police dept. and also I found her cell phone tooo..I noticed her birthday was almost the same day as my only childs birthday..I just kept walking to the police dept. and her mother came in and claimed it crying, I said that she must have put all the stuff on the top of the car and drove off in a rite-aid parking place..The police officer said most people turn the wallets and money in, too bad the crook who took my little purse with my grocery money one week from the day I found the cell phone and bills and money wallet did not do the same for me at the grocery store adjacent to rite aid..Oh, well they must have been desperate because it was not that much and I rarely shop there anymore!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Online small Says:

    Online small

    Bad luck. Good luck. | gigi-hawaii

Leave a Reply

