Fishing for a topic

Kauai, 2008, golf, us-1-A

In 2008, David and I played 9 holes of golf on Kauai, and this is our photo, taken by our friend, Liz.  This photo is from my blog archive, not from my desktop computer.

***

As you know, I try to post something new on my blog every other morning.  Today, I went to my desktop computer and couldn’t turn it on.  I called Hawaiian Telcom and was told it is a power issue, not an Internet issue.  A red light is flashing on the battery pack, and it makes a squeeling noise.  Aaaargh.   David is still in bed, so I can’t ask him for help.

Now, here I am using my laptop.  I type more slowly on this keyboard, and all of my photos are on the desktop.  I was going to show photos of a new restaurant where we had lunch yesterday, but it will have to wait until the desktop computer is fixed.

Hence, I am fishing for a new topic right now.

Lately, I have been seeing a lot of helicopters flying above my house.  We live near Pearl Harbor, and there are military installations in our area.  I wish we lived on the other side of the island, so we wouldn’t hear these noisy helicopters.  Although it doesn’t happen all day, it is still annoying when it does happen.   What are these helicopters doing anyway?  Who or what are they transporting?  And what is their destination?

My neighborhood used to be full of U.S. Navy officers.  Now, they are gone, and there are many wealthy immigrants from Vietnam, Philippines, and Korea as well as local people like me, born and raised in Hawaii.  It’s middle class over here.  Very low crime rate.  Children walk home from school without being kidnapped, raped, or robbed.  No vagrants, either.

I hope that things continue to go well for all of us.

And that, my dear, is my topic for the day.

10 Responses to “Fishing for a topic”

  1. Christine Says:

    Hope you managed to get the desktop computer fixed!

  2. Carole Says:

    You did great Gigi! Good luck with the computer. Tech stuff can be so challenging!

  3. Cathy Says:

    Lucky you have a ‘gadget’ you are able to use as a backup in an emergency. It can be interesting to look through the media library attached to your blog – it gives you an idea of what pictures you’ve used over the years.
    Which part of the city do the navy personnel live now Gigi?

  4. DJan Says:

    I do hope you get your computer issues worked out. A friend of mine lost all her pictures by pressing the wrong button! 😦

  5. Olga Says:

    I live near an airport and Air Force jets take off and circle around at least once a week. I don’t even notice the regular planes that take off and land several times a day, but those jets are hard to miss.

    I hope you were able to solve the computer problem. Or David was able to!

  6. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I tend to worry when I see a lot of helicopters, like they are getting ready for something. Maybe North Korea? I hope we just have peace.

  7. joared Says:

    I only use laptop, mostly netbook now for blog posts, and frequently comment with my iPad Mini as I am now. First two devices are ancient in tech years, so have to anticipate problems occasionally, I guess. I seek help from my son various ways and sometimes have mailed a device to him in Midwest. I had to replace battery in couple instances. So far so good. Occasionally have military aircraft overhead here, also various aircraft including helicopters with fires in mtns, likewise police copters. Years ago was in backyard one night and had one low flyer turn spotlight on me & could see officers in cab. Think they must have been looking for crook. Guess here on West Coast we &, all over U.S. will have to reconsider our security with No. Korea loose cannon and nut case in the W.H.

  8. Tazer Says:

    Here is what wrong with your computer. You need to have the battery pack change. You can do it yourself or wait awhile to have the repairman come to change it. They have these battery stores here that have them. The hawaiiantel.com repairman told me. Plus that is only for your phone. When the power is out, the battery pack kick in so you can use the phone. If you need to use the computer. And it connected to the battery pack. Unplug it from the battery pack and right into the electric wall outlet. If you need help you can email me. Thanks

Leave a Reply

