DB Grill – Kapolei

Last Thursday, David and I drove to Kapolei to have lunch at DB Grill, a new restaurant known for its delicious Korean cuisine.

David drove his 2010 Toyota Camry (prior to his car accident on Friday):

DB Grill 004-A

The landscape on the way to Kapolei, which is located on the west side of the island of Oahu, was rather brown due to sparse rainfall:

DB Grill 005-A

There was ample free parking around the restaurant:

DB Grill 009-A

This is the bar:

DB Grill 012-A

David and I posed at our table:

DB Grill 015-A

David ordered the kalbi plate, which consisted of Korean short ribs, rice, and kim chee (spicy, pickled cabbage):

DB Grill 017-A

I ordered the tofu salad with shrimp:

DB Grill 019-A

Then, we ordered steamed mundoo (stuffed with pork, chicken, and vegetables):

DB Grill 021-A

This is a single mundoo with a sauce consisting of soy, sugar, and green onions:

DB Grill 023-A

We had a wonderful time at DB Grill in Kapolei.  If you like Korean cuisine, then this is the best place to dine.  Go at lunch time, because it is less expensive than dinner time.

7 Responses to “DB Grill – Kapolei”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    Lovely restaurant and delicious food. Great photo of you and David. Sorry to hear about the accident.

  2. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Looks good! A bit too far for me, but we’ll see.

  3. Snoskred Says:

    Gosh, I do not know how you survived the terrible desolate isolation out that way. There is this nutcase on the Oahu Tripadvisor forums who insists that Ko Olina (and areas surrounding it which includes Kapolei, I guess) is ISOLATED.

    I live in Australia. I drive a 320km round trip just to go to Costco. The entire island of Oahu is 44 miles (71 km) long and 30 miles (48 km) across. The length of the shoreline is 227 miles (365 km) In my opinion, it is not possible to be “isolated” on such a tiny island.

    I went out to Ko Olina in late 2013, had lunch at Monkeypod, and I did not experience this isolation. It seemed to me like everything I could possibly want was right there, and if someone dropped me at one of those resorts without a car, I could easily survive for months with just my credit card and the available shops and dining places.

    Sure, it is not Waikiki with an ABC store on every corner, but there is no way it is “isolated”. I have given up arguing with this nutcase because life is just too short.. the trouble is, she is a “destination expert” so people actually believe her.

    I do keep up with the goings on @Oahu and heard about this new restaurant a little while back, it seemed like a place I would enjoy. 😉 I believe they have karaoke at night, as well.

  4. Christine Says:

    I would certainly try this place!

  5. DJan Says:

    It sure looks good to me. But I also would have to find somewhere closer. 🙂

  6. Olga Says:

    I don’t think there is a Korean restaurant near here. I will just have to travel more.

  7. anonymousinthemainland! Says:

    We are having a huge heat wave 102 or 103 and humidity in Vancouver Washington..Our Clark County fair starts Friday they are going to cancel the free breakfast because of the heat and probably have to do something for the many animals in the 4h place..It is suffocating hot, I would take Ohau anyday or night..We do not have a/c in a home of 1978 when it was built. We will escape to the Washington coast soon it will be much cooler there! The Oregon coast is hot as a pepper plant and people are going bat you know what crazy due to the eclipse coming on August 21, 2017..I read about your car accident and your daughters car accident..Some people think they don’t need car insurance at all here in Washington state so our insurance on cars and homes is very very expensive..Remember it is just a car your husband is not hurt and your daughter was not hurt, things can be replaced human beings not at all..Aloha and the lunch you had looked so yummy – we only dine at lunch time due to the excessive prices for dinner and one doesn’t need to get that much food anyways is the way I see it..Aloha and peace and loads of good Karma sent to you and yours in the lovely month of August..ciao!X()

Leave a Reply

