Don’t take your feet for granted

David suffers from osteoarthritis and a flat foot.  He had his two knees replaced recently, but can’t do anything for his flat foot.  Hence, he still walks slowly and is crippled for life.

His left foot is flat.  His right foot is normal:

David and Glenda's feet 003-A

He shaves the callus on his flat foot with a special device:

David and Glenda's feet 004-A

I am thankful for my normal feet and have a pedicure once a month, changing the nail color from time to time.  Last month, I had blue polish.  This month, I chose pink:

David and Glenda's feet 002-A

My 7 year old grandson, Rylan, has perfectly formed feet:

Grandkids 011-A

You should never take your feet for granted.  Yesterday, I saw a man sitting in a wheelchair.  His left foot had been amputated, probably due to diabetes.

7 Responses to “Don’t take your feet for granted”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    I never take my feet for granted. I have had so many problems with them over the years. I’m just thankful they are not giving me any problems now 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    You and Rylan have pretty feet! And great advice to take care of our feet as best we can.

  3. DJan Says:

    Such a pretty pink! And you are right about the need to take care of our feet. 😄

  4. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    It is amazing how our feet hold up our bodies. Bless David, he is such a trooper.

    May I suggest he try going to a massage/chiropractic/healer that I go to? It is a combination of something like rolfing, reiki, shiatsu, but not quite. Healing Seitai – on the corner of Keeaumoku and King Streets. There is a steep flight of steps, so if you do go, take it slow.

  5. joared Says:

    I always remember my mother saying to think about how many hours a day we spend on our feet — so, we should take very good care of them.

  6. Kay G. Says:

    We should appreciate each and every part of our bodies. It is so true that you don’t know how much you use your foot/ finger/wrist/knee…etc. until you hurt them. If something goes wrong, we just have to try our best to help ourselves along!
    Hang in there, David! Looking at the comment above by honolulu aunty, maybe that is good advice!

  7. Beatrice Says:

    You are so right, Gigi. Feet are very important especially to keep us upright and moving.

Leave a Reply

