We dry our eyes and hope for the best

This photo was taken on December 25, 2014.  We were at The Willows for Christmas dinner:  David and I, my daughter and her family, my younger daughter, and my sister in law and her family:

Willows 027-A

In April 2016, my sister in law (my deceased brother’s wife) died in a traffic accident.  There was a funeral at the Mormon Tabernacle, followed by the burial.  Pat now rests above Dathan and next to my parents at the cemetery.  After the burial, I invited my relatives to my home for a catered lunch:

Pat's last hurrah 005-A

On March 26, 2017, I hosted another catered lunch in my home, again inviting my relatives, to remember the deceased in my family:

PARTY 3-26-2017 009-a

How I miss Pat!  She was the sweetest person among the deceased.  We will no longer see her at family parties.

Life goes on.  We dry our eyes and hope for the best.

6 Responses to “We dry our eyes and hope for the best”

  1. Christine Says:

    Wonderful idea to have this remembrance.

  2. Olga Says:

    I think it is wonderful of you to keep up this effort to keep family together and to keep memories alive.

  3. DJan Says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. We all must do the same, dry our eyes and move on. 😦

  4. joared Says:

    Sorry for your loss — seem always so many as we age. Lovely way to remember with family gatherings.

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    A gathering of family is a loving remembrance of a loved one. I remember your stories about Pat and what a very special lady she was.

  6. Beatrice Says:

    Yes we do hope for best and love the family members remaining and never forget those who have left us. It is clear that is something you do, Gigi.

Leave a Reply

